Side button number five stopped working

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links, files or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
Hela
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2023 1:17 pm

Side button number five stopped working

Post by Hela »

XMBC Version 2.20.5:
Installed version:
Windows Version 10:
Mouse Razer deathadder v2:
intel i5 13 400 DDR6 6000 3070 TI :
After updating XMBC there were no problems:
After updating XMBC there were no problems:
6-8 Months:
Language RU\EN:

Hello, I used the side button to hold. But the button stopped working for no reason. We tried other mouse, other computers, VPN doesn’t help (I’m sorry, I’m going through a translator) :
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 7666
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Side button number five stopped working

Post by phil »

Is the button physically broken?
You say you tried another mouse and another computer, but you didn't say if it worked on those?!

No idea why a VPN would make any difference (lol?!)

Does the mouse have its own configuration software (like Logitech mice do)? Maybe the button has been changed in that if so (so XMBC will not see the button 5 message)?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9/G604/M720/MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 1Tb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)
Hela
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2023 1:17 pm

Re: Side button number five stopped working

Post by Hela »

yes, I tried it on 4 mice and 2 other computers, it doesn’t work. As for VPN, I thought that perhaps this program had stopped working in our country, because I asked to check my friend on his computer in my country and it didn’t work for him either, but for my friends from Russia everything works fine. My mouse has software, there are no assigned keys, I also tried it on a mouse without software, the result is the same
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 7666
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Side button number five stopped working

Post by phil »

OK. XMBC relies on and remaps the standard Windows mouse button messages, so the first thing to try....
Normally in Windows, button 4 and 5 work as back/forward in web browsers (Edge for example). If you completely exit XMBC (make sure it is not running) does button 4 go "BACK" and button 5 go "FORWARD" or just button 4 work in that way?

If button 4 works and button 5 does not work, then the problem is somewhere lower than XMBC, either the mouse's own software or something else on Windows is intercepting the message. If both buttons work as back and forward, then that suggest the button is behaving normally, so then the question is why is XMBC not seeing it.

I presume, when XMBC is running with the setup screen running, button 4 highlights orange and button 5 does not? If that is not the case, let me know. The debug log may be useful - but probably not if button 5 does not highlight in orange (or work in the browser with XMBC not running).

Not sure what else it could be / what else to suggest, but XMBC is not away of where it is running (country, continent or whatever) so it wont be anything country specific!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9/G604/M720/MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 1Tb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)
User avatar
oisinvg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 6:16 pm

Re: Side button number five stopped working

Post by oisinvg »

Second this.

Wheel down + button 4 = chording works fine.

Wheel down + button 5 = does not work
User avatar
oisinvg
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 6:16 pm

Re: Side button number five stopped working

Post by oisinvg »

Second this.

Wheel down + button 4 = chording works fine.

Wheel down + button 5 = does not work
Post Reply