Can't change wheel tilt to middle mouse button efficiently

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links, files or images until they have at least 4 posts.
kynuen
New User

Can't change wheel tilt to middle mouse button efficiently

Post by kynuen »

XMouse v2.19.2 installed on Windows 11 Home
Mouse/Keyboard: Dell Multidevice Wireless
I'm new to X-mouse, I'd like to solve this specific problem with it:

As the title says I'd like to make my left and right wheel tilt to behave the very same way as a wheel click (middle mouse click) The reason is that the wheel click needs a much harder click then the tilt, and this makes it really uncomfortable. I used to use a Logitech mouse, where I could configure this behavior successfully in Setpoint. Here, Dell's driver is lacking in many regards, so I ended app trying your great app.

On paper this is easy. I can simply change the tilt to middle click in the app and they behave correctly if I only need a click (like for example closing a browser tab). But I work in 3D and I use my middle mouse button extensively for hold and release action (it's rotating my scene) and for this, the simple setup doesn't work.

That said I tried the advanced menu too.
"3 Press on down, release on up" - it "kind of" works but it makes everything laggy, skipping. It feels like the signal is not continuous so it's unusable.
"8 Sticky (held down until button is pressed again)" (and in the base menu "Sticky Middle Button" ): These two work in 3D! The movement is smooth, except I have to push tilt again to stop the action - same for any click event. With these they need to be done twice to execute. So close... but still far.