Modifier Keys to activate layers 6 and above doesn't seem to work.

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
HmanPsionic
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:08 am

Modifier Keys to activate layers 6 and above doesn't seem to work.

Post by HmanPsionic » Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:23 am

XMBC Version: 2.18.7
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro x64
Mouse Information (brand/model): Logitech G102
Relevant Computer Information (CPU, RAM etc): Not relevant
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC? (If so, from what version?): No
Did the problem occur after a Windows update/upgrade? (If so, from what version?): No
How long have you used XMBC?: About 3 months
What language and keyboard layout do you use in Windows?: English QWERTY keyboard layout

Clear description of the problem - try and include as much information as possible, including what button and mappings you are having problems with (if applicable).:I made different layers (upto layer 7) for middle button macro (simulated keys). Each layer changes the macro of the middle button a little bit. Then i opened Settings -> Modifier Keys -> Layer modifiers. I used Numpad 2 to Numpad 7 to activate Layers 2 - 7 respectively. The shortcut works till layer 5 but after layer 6, the activate shortcut doesn't seem to work.
I've tried multiple other shortcuts for layers 6 and 7 but none of them seems to work. Everything shortcut works fine upto layer 5.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Modifier Keys to activate layers 6 and above doesn't seem to work.

Post by phil » Sun Oct 13, 2019 1:34 pm

XMBC originally had a maximum of 5 layers so that's probably why it works up to 5. However, it certainly has worked in the past, so I will take a look. It is possible it got broken somewhere along the line and probably fell through the gaps of testing - as far as I know not many people actually use more than 5 layers never mind with modifier keys.

Edit: Interesting, here is seems to work up to 6, but not above - that really doesn't make much sense but at least I can reproduce the problem (=Easier to figure out whats going on).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Modifier Keys to activate layers 6 and above doesn't seem to work.

Post by phil » Sun Oct 13, 2019 3:29 pm

OK found and fixed (it will be in the next beta)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

HmanPsionic
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:08 am

Re: Modifier Keys to activate layers 6 and above doesn't seem to work.

Post by HmanPsionic » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:27 pm

Wow, that was a fast reply and fix. Thank you. :cheers:
Edit: typos

Post Reply