SNMPThroughput initial setup tip

Utility to monitor network throughput on devices supporting SNMP such as the Vigor 2600, Billion 7402 & Cisco 2600.
Post Reply
govogy
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:09 am

SNMPThroughput initial setup tip

Post by govogy »

Hi Highrez,

Thanks for your great program. I've been looking for something that does this peak/off-peak reporting in realtime. The ISP data is always horribly delayed and I had no way of confirming their numbers. This is superb.

Anyway, I thought I'd better let people know how to get this running with the minimum hassle. I spent a long while trying to get it going, and eventually worked out that my device needed to have a device xml file created before starting SNMPThroughput.

I found that having a Device_1.xml file with \"<root></root>\" worked, and the program filled in the required settings.


Thanks again,
Sean
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Post by phil »

Ohh thanks for that. This should not be the case. Are you using the latest 2.6?

I'm away right now but I will look into this when I get home.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9/G604/M720/MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 1Tb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)
govogy
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:09 am

Post by govogy »

Yes, 2.6 ... I downloaded from the site a few days ago.

no problem, worked it out in the end. could also be me doing something odd which wouldn't be the first time. :)
Allua
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:02 am

Re: SNMPThroughput initial setup tip

Post by Allua »

The very first thing that should be done is to block port 161 and 162 UDP on your firewall or gateway. SNMP utilizes port 161 to issue and respond to SNMP queries and commands. Port 162 is used to send trap messages.
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: SNMPThroughput initial setup tip

Post by phil »

And the purpose of bringing up a 14 year old post in a pretty dead forum was?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9/G604/M720/MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 1Tb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)
Post Reply