How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
SWatB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:07 am

How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by SWatB » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:21 am

XMBC Version: 2.18.8
Windows Version: 10
How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?
I need to double-click the left mouse button, the simulation of the "Ins" button works.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by phil » Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:17 am

Sorry, not currently possible with XMBC.
You may be able to do it with an autohotkey script?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

SWatB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:07 am

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by SWatB » Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:26 am

phil wrote:
Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:17 am
Sorry, not currently possible with XMBC.
Are you planning to do this in the future?
phil wrote:
Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:17 am
You may be able to do it with an autohotkey script?
How to do it?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by phil » Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:39 am

No it is not currently on the planned list of changes - its actually quite a tricky one and would require massive wholesale changes in XMBC (GUI and back end) so even if it were on the list, given my time constraints, it would likely slip and slip. In theory it may be possible but its to detect double/tripple click as to do it like XMBC does its other action remapping, one would have to block the first click until the second/third - else the default action (single left click) would still run. That would cause massive click lag and would break the button completely in any application that blocks simulated input. I suppose that may be possible to NOT block the sing click but that would mean that the single click action would still run (which may or may not be acceptable depending on your usecase).

As to how to do it in Autohotkey - you would have to head over to the autohotkey forums and ask there. I am not familiar with how to program it, I just know its very flexible and should be able to do something like this (you will still have the issues above, but you can work with that how is best for you as opposed to XMBC having to work for everyone and not just how you want it!)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

SWatB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:07 am

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by SWatB » Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:46 am

I hope you can solve this.
The God will be with you. Always.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by phil » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:02 pm

I think you misunderstood - this is not on my list of things to do - and its not going on the list any time soon.
Sorry!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by Kukurykus » Sat Sep 07, 2019 11:25 pm

Thx for explaining why double / triple clicks are so hard to implement. I think finaly I understood it.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

SWatB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:07 am

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by SWatB » Sat Sep 07, 2019 11:32 pm

phil wrote:
Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:02 pm
I think you misunderstood - this is not on my list of things to do - and its not going on the list any time soon.
Sorry!
I understood correctly.
Simply, I hope that inspiration will come to you, how to do it faster and easier.
Then, you can add to the list and do.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to make the imitation of a key work only when double-clicked?

Post by phil » Sun Sep 08, 2019 7:02 pm

Fair enough :)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply