Pro Tools shortcuts

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links, files or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
Christopher
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2022 2:00 pm

Pro Tools shortcuts

Post by Christopher »

XMBC Version: 2.19.2
Installed or Portable version: Installed
Windows Version: 10 with latest updates
Mouse Information (brand/model): Kensington Trackball Pro
Relevant Computer Information (CPU, RAM etc): i7 8700k, 32GB
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC? (If so, from what version?): no
Did the problem occur after a Windows update/upgrade? (If so, from what version?): no
How long have you used XMBC?: a week
What language and keyboard layout do you use in Windows?: International English layout

Clear description of the problem - try and include as much information as possible, including what button and mappings you are having problems with (if applicable).:

I'm trying to use X-Mouse to program shortcuts that I often use in Avid Pro Tools to the upper left and upper right buttons on my Kensington Trackball Pro.

Simple key combinations with one modifier key work normally, such as:
Ctrl A
Ctrl S
Ctrl =

HOWEVER, more complex key combinations don't work, such as:
Win Alt Shift \ (new playlist for selected tracks)
Shift Alt Up Arrow (copy selection to target playlist)
Alt Shift 3 (consolidate selection)

I read the manual for X-Mouse but couldn't get any insight into this problem. This problem is only in Avid Pro Tools, not in other applications. Obviously you'll say "contact Avid," and I did but they refused to help.

Do you guys have any ideas?

Here's an example of my mapping, maybe I'm using wrong syntax:
(pressed)[{LWIN}{ALT}{SHIFT}\] for Win+Alt+Shift+\

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6982
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Pro Tools shortcuts

Post by phil »

I can't see anything obviously wrong with your syntax, but can you try method 3 (during) and see if it makes any difference? It shouldn't but I'm curious!
I don't have Avid pro tools (and I'm guessing there is no free/trial version I can test with?) which makes it a little tricky to try and reproduce here.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 1Tb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Christopher
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2022 2:00 pm

Re: Pro Tools shortcuts

Post by Christopher »

Thank you Phil. I tried "During," but nothing changed.

There was a free version of Pro Tools but that changed as of last week... :shock:

Pro Tools has a very strange behaviour with the Alt key. If I use Alt + Tab to switch from PT to another program, next time I go into PT, the Alt modifier key won't work for anything - unless I tap it twice - then I can use it for a shortcut command again. Otherwise it just won't respond at all, not for anything. This is only on Windows, not on Mac. I contacted Avid, the manufacturer of PT, and they wouldn't help with this either. But I guess there could be a connection between these two problems. If only I could figure it out.

Post Reply