No function while holding ctrl

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links, files or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
luckeyluc
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 12:56 pm

No function while holding ctrl

Post by luckeyluc »

XMBC Version:
X-Mouse Button Control v2.19.2 (x64)
Windows Version:
Microsoft Windows 10 Professional Edition (build 19042), 64-bit
Mouse Information (brand/model):
Logitech G502
Relevant Computer Information (CPU, RAM etc):
Not relevant in this issue i think
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC? (If so, from what version?):
From when i downloaded it

Clear description of the problem - try and include as much information as possible, including what button and mappings you are having problems with (if applicable).:

I remapped my scroll wheel to click but when I'm holding ctrl it seems my remaps aren't working anymore.
I checked the settings but it doesn't seem ctrl has any settings to it.
Read through the xmbc instructions but can't find anything.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6762
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by phil »

So if you are holding CTRL and you have remapped scroll, are you expecting it to execute a CTRL+left click?
I don't see why it wouldn't be doing that... Unless you have setup to change layers when CTRL is held or something?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

luckeyluc
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 12:56 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by luckeyluc »

yea, i expect to ctrl click when I do that.
I changed my layer amount to 1 to be sure its not used to switch layers, still no succes.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6762
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by phil »

I Wonder, if you sent another button to do this, instead of the wheel, does it work as expected?
There was a time when CTRL being held, changed the way the wheel code worked (because ctrl+wheel usually = zoom and it was getting some things messed up)... And I wonder if that code is in there and causing it to get it wrong in this case.

I'll try and have a look tomorrow or the weekend but in the mean time, can you confirm if you set button 4 or 5 (or middle) to left click, does ctrl+click work OK?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

luckeyluc
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 12:56 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by luckeyluc »

yea.
If i set it ctrl mouse 4 it works fine.
The reason why i would like to set it to mousewheel is to quickly spam left click.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6762
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by phil »

OK, thanks for confirming my theory... Now I just need to find a little time to figure out why its not working on the wheel.
This has been logged on my todo/bug list, but right now I cant promise any timescales. Its been a weird year, not least that I haven't had a chance to really look at XMBC - the longest time ever since the last release :( ... but at some point I'll be on it and will let you know what I find.

Regards,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6762
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by phil »

Just a thought, how did you assign left click to the wheel? Using the left click in the dropdown or using simkeys? If the former, please try simulated key strokes and use the tag {LMB} just to see if it makes any difference (it probably wont but always worth a try!)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

luckeyluc
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2021 12:56 pm

Re: No function while holding ctrl

Post by luckeyluc »

i'll try your workaround.
For now my solution is to put the repeating lmb on my mouse 5, so it keeps clicking until i release it.

Post Reply