Request: Autostart and Tray Only Start

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
crivy32
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 5:06 pm

Request: Autostart and Tray Only Start

Post by crivy32 »

Currently I autostart XMouse Button Control, because it is so useful, but it always opens the main window which I have to click away each time. Please add an option to have it tray only on start. Including an in-built Start With Windows option would be great, too for a bit of one-time setup convenience.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6697
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Request: Autostart and Tray Only Start

Post by phil »

XMBC Only opens the main window if it is run more than once.
The first time, it should start hidden in the tray.
This normally happens when you add an entry to the startup folder when it is already started by default by an entry in the registry (run key).
Look in task manager, startup tab and you may see two entries for XMBC...

To fix it, simply remove/disable one of the duplicate startup entries (pref. the one in the startup folder if thats where it is). There is already a built in "Start with windows" which goes in the local machine registry (and can not be altered from the GUI because XMBC does not run as administrator and thus can not modify the HKLM run key).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

crivy32
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 5:06 pm

Re: Request: Autostart and Tray Only Start

Post by crivy32 »

I was not aware the program autostarts by default without further user input. As you said there were two entries. Did not test yet, but I will assume the problem solved. Thank you very much! This program is so fundamentally important, I wish it was not even necessary.

Post Reply