Can i hold "w" and repeat shift at same time?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
Zeinn
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:30 am

Can i hold "w" and repeat shift at same time?

Post by Zeinn »

XMBC Version: 2.18.8
Windows Version: 7
Mouse Information (brand/model): just a cheap mouse
Relevant Computer Information (CPU, RAM etc):
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC? (If so, from what version?):
Did the problem occur after a Windows update/upgrade? (If so, from what version?):
How long have you used XMBC?: Maybe 1 year
What language and keyboard layout do you use in Windows?: English UK

Clear description of the problem - try and include as much information as possible, including what button and mappings you are having problems with (if applicable).: i want to hold 'w' and repeat shift at same time

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Can i hold "w" and repeat shift at same time?

Post by phil »

Possibly, but I'm not sure it will work with just shift - not something I have tried..
In sim keys, select method 6 and try:
{OD}Z{OR}{SHIFT}

You may need an {OU}Z at the end - I cant remember (probably not but if the above doesn't work, you could try it)
{OD} only sends the following key when the button is first pressed down.
{OR} only sends the following key when the repeat runs
{OU} sends the following key only when the button is released.

The only problem, as shift is a "modifier" I'm not sure it will do anything on its own!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

onij
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:01 am

Re: Can i hold "w" and repeat shift at same time?

Post by onij »

@phil & @Zeinn
Shift won't activate on it's own in this case but I got around this problem by simply doing {shift}p
(or any other random key) Meaning... I just added some key that didn't do anything to my game so that shift would still activate.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Can i hold "w" and repeat shift at same time?

Post by phil »

OK, I will have to look at the code to see if there is a way of triggering just a shift key (without it acting as a modifier for the following key) thats how {SHIFT}{CTRL}{ALT} etc are normally used so I guess it may be assumed....
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

noxcovenant
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 12:38 am

Re: Can i hold "w" and repeat shift at same time?

Post by noxcovenant »

I hope I don't sound like an asshole with this suggestion, but for the time being, you can perform that function easily with AutoHotkey. After installing Autohotkey, right click, make a new script, and paste this. Then right-click on new file and hit "Run Script".

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive STAR WARS Battlefront II (or whatever game)
 ~w::LShift
#IfWinActive
X Mouse and AutoHotkey are a lethal combo.

Post Reply