Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
wienne
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:59 pm

Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by wienne »

Press the two buttons "CTRL" and "left mouse button" to simulate the keys.

instead of just a left mouse button.

Could you tell me how this CTRL key is configured?

thank!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by phil »

You can do this using layers and Layer Modifier Keys.
Set your simkeys on Layer 2 left click.
Turn ON layer modifer keys (settings -> layer modifier keys tab)
Set Layer 2 modifier to CTRL.

Now when you hold CTRL, layer 2 will be active and left click will send the sim keys.

NOTE: CTRL is not a great choice of modifier, because it WILL impact the keys being sent - eg. if you are sending 'C' then it will copy to clipboard because you are holding CTRL, you will actually be sending CTRL+C
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

wienne
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:59 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by wienne »

Thank you for your reply.

Enabling and setting up "modifer Keys" has enabled the conversion from Layer 1 to Layer2.

On your advice, I chose Shift-Alt.

However, when I set the {DEL} command to "Left Button" of Layer2, the command was not executed.

Is there anything else I didn't turn on?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by phil »

I dont think there is anything else to consider....

In what application are you trying this? Its quite possible that SHIFT+DEL behaves differently too...
Try something simple like a normal letter key and in notepad.... Obv with shift+a you should see A (assuming caps lock is off).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

cableghost
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by cableghost »

I may be missing something about modifier and Layers... I wish to press/hold the Ctrl key and while clicking the mouse-right button open an Explorer Window. I can visualize X-Mouse identifying that I'm pressing the Modifier key (Ctrl in this case), the layer changing, and the clicking of my mouse right button. However, a window doesn't open.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by phil »

How are you telling XMBC to open the window? And don't forget, when CTRL is pressed, explorer may well be handling any clicks differently - simply because CTRL is pressed.

Layer modifier keys do not get blocked so whatever you hold down will impact potential operations in the target window.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

cableghost
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by cableghost »

Ah, ok. I guess its best to use app-specific Layers.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6695
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Trigger condition CTRL+LeftClick,simulate keys

Post by phil »

It really depends on what your intent is. There are often many ways to crack a nut, but some ways are better than others!

Of course, the problem may not be related to the modifier key at all - it could be another error, but as your visualization has been kept rather private to yourself (you haven't really given me any idea of what you have actually tried in XMBC or where you stumbled), its rather difficult for me to guess if there is a configuration error :).

The first thing, is can you could try to find another key that is less conflicting - unfortunately there are few keys on the keyboard that don't have some use somewhere so its always tricky to find alternatives. You can in some cases use global hotkeys to trigger the layer for a second or so, or you can use button chording, or application specific profiles - it all depends on what your trying to achieve!

In theory, layer modifier keys could block the key getting sent on to Windows, but that would have the rather problematic side effect of preventing that key from working as it normally would -a nd therefore right now, that is not an option offered by XMBC.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply