XMBC 2.15 - Change Movement To Scroll problem?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
phillord
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:45 pm

XMBC 2.15 - Change Movement To Scroll problem?

Post by phillord » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:55 pm

I just upgraded to 2.15 and have found problems with ChangeMovementToScroll.

I have this bound to Mouse 4 for my Logitech Marble Mouse. On upgrading, it started launching the magnifier. I tried resetting it to do nothing then back again, and now it does nothing. I have downgraded again to 2.14 and the problem disappears.

Anything I can do to help debug this? Incidentally, are older versions available from anywhere on the main web site? I had to grab one of a random location on the internet which never feels great.

Thanks for the software!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5888
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15

Post by phil » Thu Feb 09, 2017 11:06 pm

Hi,

Firstly, Change movement to scroll was changed quite a bit in v2.15 with a new dialog and the removal of the old actions, combined into one. It was test quite a bit, but there is nothing like letting it loose on the general public to find more issues :).

From a debug point of view, the first thing would be to PM me a copy of your settings file (if you don't mind) then I can see if I can recreate the problem. If I can then it should be fairly straight forward to work our what I have broken, and fix it. If not I may come back and ask for some more information.

As for older versions, the are all on the server still. Its just my main link goes through a database to grab the latest version. I normally just provide links when asked, as generally, I'd rather get problems fixed than have people using older versions (because support/bug fixing becomes much more difficult on older versions).

All of my recent releases are signed and the cert has my name and email address in it, so it shouldn't be difficult to verify if it is genuine just by looking at the file properties.

Here is a link to 2.14 - from this you can probably work out the number scheme to grab any older version on the server too :)

https://www.highrez.co.uk/scripts/downl ... on=2140000

Thanks,
Phil

PS. I edited the title of you topic just so others may find it more easily if they have similar issues.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5888
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 - Change Movement To Scroll problem?

Post by phil » Thu Feb 09, 2017 11:55 pm

Once other thing, in 2.15 when change movement to scroll didn't work, did the cursor change to the movement to scroll cursor, or did even that not work?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.15 - Change Movement To Scroll problem?

Post by injtsvetkov » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:21 am

phillord wrote:I tried resetting it to do nothing then back again, and now it does nothing.
After resetting it to do nothing, when you changed it back to "Change movement to scroll" did you see the "Movement to Scroll Configuration" window?
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5888
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 - Change Movement To Scroll problem?

Post by phil » Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:48 am

OK it is a bug - but there is a simple fix/workaround...
When loading the old config/settings file, XMBC fails setup the new movement to scroll object (thats the bug) so it does not work.

However, the simple fix, is in the settings window, click the "cog" button next to the dropdown with movement to scroll in it to open the movement to scroll configuration window. Press OK to accept the movement to scroll config and then apply the settings. From now in, it should work!

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply