XMBC 2.14 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Locked
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 6:03 pm

Oops... looks like I put the buttons in the wrong order! I'll fix that!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 6:18 pm

Just revelation that clicking a gear gives not only what BriHecato suggested to display "chordings". Editing of entered previously Simulated Keys is also great option - Thank You Phil!
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 6:30 pm

Yes the gear button was inspired by BriHecato's suggestions. It does make it much easier than re-selecting the entry in the list :). And it will be even better when i fix the buttons in the wrong order....

Ive fixed the order but I want to try and find out why the buttons don't always show - The annoying this is that I can reproduce it reliably here - on my desktop it seems to always work :(

Do the buttons always appear in the chording window? I think it might be something to do with the tab but I can't be sure....
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:19 pm

OK so 2.14 Beta 11 is quickly followed by 2.14 Beta 12

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 11:
  • #417 - Fixed config button order for tilt and wheel drop-downs.
  • #415 - Separate groups with a line and a different background colour
  • #404 - Third Attempt to fix missing button on layer tabs.
    .... - Fixed a translation template error
There were two translations that were fixed in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).
NOTE: As this was so quick after beta 11, you may find the update check does not find this version for a day or so (as the DNS entry for the version number is usually cached for 24hours)

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:24 pm

I can add that shortly later when I opened XMBC only two icons were not displayed untill I hovered over them (2 of 3 next to layer blank)...

..ha ha, now when I opened XMBC to check their names they all where invisible. Moving cursor on them helped but there are also invisible gears, beside second and 2 last ones. In this case even mouse cursor over them doesn't help (that's perhaps unnecessary info, but one is used - black, and rest isn't yet - grey). Like before I have to choose 'Chording' to activatye them (one at once).

Maybe you make that for worse now for Windows 10 users. I'm not sure who reported this problem before but maybe that didn't work for Windows 7 while in Windows 10 it doesn't work now after some change you did?

Anyway lately here (and in my work) on Windows 10 with versions 9 and 10 all worked fine. So either that was luck or now it is broken for all Windows or it works for Windows 7 and doesn't for 10 :lol:
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:35 pm

Luck I think... Did your last message refer to beta 11 or 12?
I tried to fix it in beta 12 - feedback required.

This problem shouldn't be windows specific - its something to do with the custom drawing code for the icon buttons I guess. Unfortunately its not clear why it does not work.

You didn't answer my question about the gear buttons on the button chording screen? Do they work on there or does that have the same problem as the layer tabs -- I think the problem is related to the layer tab code but I need you to answer this question to be sure.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:47 pm

My previous post was the answer for version 11 still, now I installed version 12 and so far (at least after first launch) all about icons is fine (I tried right now too).

Sorry to forget to answer. I'm not sure now, but I think gears next to chording buttons worked always, only some with or without simulated keys where invisible (not all). Ah sorry, you ask about something else, about icons in chording section, yes all where visible - not any problem there.

Little suggestion however probably you'll work it out later. I think that in the second group there shouldn't be 'Double Click', but instead of it you should add wheel/tilt (up, down, left and right). Double click is special behaviour while wheel and tilt (if the mice got them all) - though like 4th and 5th not standard buttons - are still just "buttons".


UPDATE: I think that every second grey layout is a little too light. When you don't know that is there you can no see it, probably because of blue lines. So if you leave lines like they are now and make a little darker that grey colour it should look perfect!
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:57 pm

OK for the tilt/scroll - no problem - but where should double click go then? I cant really have a group with just one item in it... and it is like left click (twice :))

The groups are not all that easy to define - some items could arguably be in multiple groups but that is not possible with this implementation :)

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:03 pm

Just if you missed it I made update about grey colour in previous post (again posted at the same time you made XMBC update or posted your message).

You're right that sholdn't go for 'one button' group. I thought that maybe better place for 'Double Click' is already created 3rd or 4th group?
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:05 pm

These are the goups:
_QuickAccess,
_MouseButton,
_Dragging,
_Scrolling,
_Axis,
_Display,
_Clipboard,
_Keyboard,
_Multitask,
_Accessibility,
_Media,
_Browser,
_Edit,
_Window,
_Application,
_AeroSnap,
_Layer

If I ever get group headers in the list (not soon - too much effort) then it does not really fit into dragging or scrolling!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:09 pm

Kukurykus wrote:Just if you missed it I made update about grey colour in previous post (again posted at the same time you made XMBC update or posted your message).
Is this better?
list.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:12 pm

Yes, it has to stay where it is now - no other option, and after end it's maybe even more often used than a single click :idea: so it's like extra button 8)

Force of habit makes I still choose from a list chordings and simulated keys, but it will change shortly. Anyway I don't know is it good, becuase that when choridings and simulated keys are already set they don't work untill I do it now the (new) correct way so click the gear. For sure it teach me faster to click a gear instead still click it from a list, however I'm not sure choosing it both way wouldn't be better in case it seems to stay on the list however assigned or not.

UPDATE: Yes it's much more visible, not sure isn't it too dark now though :D but I like it so far!
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:26 pm

if chords / sim keys are not already set, then it should still open the window when selecting it.
If they are already set, then it wont open the window and you have to click the gear - that made sense to me but we can see what other people think.

Maybe its too dark now - I don't know, some people are never happy :) Ive gone for something in between RGB(244,244,244) now - it was 249,249,249 in beta 12 and the screenshot was 240,240,240 :)
list.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:32 pm

Intensity of grey is no matter, just when there's no visible difference between white and grey or it's too much it's either pointless or too agressive, so yes again, now someething between last grey colours should be final conclusion :wink:
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 11, 2016 9:09 pm

The problem is that it depends on how good your monitor is at display colours - I have 2 Samsung LCD's that are pretty bad, especially at less than perfect viewing angles. I also have 2 DELL LCD's (which cost more) but they are MUCH better at displaying the colours even at strange viewing angles. And don't get me started on projectors :).

I just found a major issue in the GUI size (when updating the user manual) if you have more than 5 layers, the layer tab does not fit and gets truncated - so that's something else to fix for the next beta - but I don't think I will do that today lol.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Locked