Possible to install without internet connection?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
Amazed
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:38 am

Possible to install without internet connection?

Post by Amazed »

Possible to install without internet connection?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6470
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Possible to install without internet connection?

Post by phil »

Should be possible but I havn't tested it recently.

However, you must make sure your Windows root certificates are up to date else you may have problems running XMBC after installation. XMBC runs as an accessibility tool, for which it needs to be digitally signed. Those signatures are updated (yearly) ad if your computer isn't up to date, it may not trust the signer - and in that case you'll get a weird error (something about a referral - a generic windows error message! It's covered in the FAQ and is fixable by applying a MSKB patch but its not obvious).

The installer does open a web page on install but that shouldn't stop it working if there is no internet. It just wont show the page - no big deal!

Any problems, then the portable version should work and does not need installation - although it has some limitations as it cant run as an accessibility tool - meaning it cant interact with higher privileged processes and thus will simply not work in some cases.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Amazed
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:38 am

Re: Possible to install without internet connection?

Post by Amazed »

"you'll get a weird error (something about a referral - a generic windows error message! It's covered in the FAQ and is fixable by applying a MSKB patch but its not obvious)."

That's the issue sounds like. Good man.

Post Reply