Malwarebytes scan seems to disable X-Button

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
purplechris
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:53 pm

Malwarebytes scan seems to disable X-Button

Post by purplechris » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:06 pm

XMBC Version: 2.17
Windows Version: 10 Pro
Mouse Information (brand/model): iHome Color Tracks Optical
Computer Information: Dell PC
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC or Windows?: Yes, not sure which, or both?
How long have you used XMBC?: For years!
What language and keyboard layout do you use in Windows?: English

Clear description of the problem: For about a month now, I've noticed that on a few occasions, X-Button would stop working. I only have it set up like this:

Middle Button = Double Click
Wheel Up = Mouse Wheel Up
Wheel Down = Mouse Wheel Down

Today I noticed precisely when it stopped and it was right after Malwarebytes completed a scan. It found no issues so it didn't seems to have a problem with X-Button, but it did seems to turn it off. I simple restart or re-apply changes had it working as normal.

Just wanted to share in case others may experience the same problem.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5550
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Malwarebytes scan seems to disable X-Button

Post by phil » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:40 pm

Interesting, is that the free version of malware bytes (I use that and haven't noticed any issues here).

Would be interested to see if this is happening to more users, although I suspect I would have heard more about it now as the advanced user types that use XMBC I would think are quite likely to also be using stuff like malware bytes :).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

purplechris
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:53 pm

Re: Malwarebytes scan seems to disable X-Button

Post by purplechris » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:00 pm

Hi Phil,

I am using the free version of Malwarebytes.

Post Reply