9 buttons mouse

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
darthicaro
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:51 pm

9 buttons mouse

Post by darthicaro » Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:27 pm

Hello,
I've been using the XMouse for about 1 month with a 5-button mouse. This mouse broke yesterday and I got one of 9 buttons, but I can not configure the commands.
The program does not recognize any of the extra buttons, only the left, right, middle, and scroll.
How can I make the other buttons to be recognized? The drivers are all up to date and I'm using the latest version of windows and XMouse.

Thanks a lot for the help

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5550
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by phil » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:07 am

You cant. XMBC only works with 5 buttons. Read the FAQ as it explains why.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

MrBean
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by MrBean » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:52 pm

Same Question ...

I use very often the functions:

1: Enter
2: Copy / Paste
3: Picture Down / Picture Up
4: Window left / Window right

I put Enter on the scrollwheel button, Cpopy/Paste on the Button 4/5. But for Picture Down / Picture Up I neet 2 more buttons.

Are there more buttons planed?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5550
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by phil » Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:06 pm

What bit about
XMBC only works with 5 buttons. Read the FAQ as it explains why.
Did you not understand!
:hide:
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

spongebog
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by spongebog » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:58 pm

phil wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:07 am
You cant. XMBC only works with 5 buttons. Read the FAQ as it explains why.
yeah this the best way to solve this problem.....

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5550
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by phil » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:35 pm

Sigh, This is one of the most asked questions - and quite frankly, I am fed up repeating myself and the detailed answer over and over again. If people cant be bothered to search the forum or read the FAQ (which is linked in the sticky topics of this forum and from the main XMBC website), then why should I spend my precious time repeating myself?

Maybe this is a time when I should say nothing at all but then people will think I am ignoring them/not reading the forums. Either way I guess I cant win!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5550
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by phil » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:38 pm

MrBean wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:52 pm
I put Enter on the scrollwheel button, Cpopy/Paste on the Button 4/5. But for Picture Down / Picture Up I neet 2 more buttons.
What about using button chording or having different layers instead of trying to use more buttons (which is impossible in XMBC)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Committed
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: 9 buttons mouse

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:03 am

Have ready FAQ link you'll be pasting without saying anything as answer for such disrespectful approaches.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

Post Reply