XMBC 2.19 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Locked
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by phil »

Here is 2.19 Beta 15...

If you have check for beta versions enabled, you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

NOTE: 2.19 Beta 1 and 2 had an incorrect version number internally and therefore the update check may fail. In this case, please manually install using the link above!

Changes since v2.19 Beta 14:
  • #581 - Fixed transparency problem with cursor overlays.
    Removed RED dot indicator for button held once the sequence starts.
    Changed chording to only show the red indicator once an active chorded button is used.
There are NO changes to the language template file for 2.19 Beta 15.

If all goes to plan, this is the final beta and I'll try and release 2.19 either just before the end of the month- but we shall see!

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

Before and after reseting computer it says I have latest version of XMBC, so can't test changes :(
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by phil »

Ye you can - there is a link up above to download it! Use it. As per usual, the DNS can take a while to propagate!

PS you don't need to reset your PC to flush your DNS cache. Just do an "ipconfig /flushdns" from the command line (lol).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

With some of latest Beta's which I found very shortly after uploading I had no this problem. In work and now at home I couldn't update it so I used Command Line. It didn't help too. I downloaded Installer then.


I tested last changes and I didn't find bugs, plus it's now much better than was. Thank you for not changing Button Hording cross to red when certain button was not assigned, and for no red points during process.

It's enough good to make this version part of incoming 2.19, howewer in few months you can upgrade it.


Now for the end I think of uniformity for Button Chording and Button Held. So for Button Held 3 red points could be grey (like grey plus for Button Chording), while for Button Chording the red plus could be green (like green dots for Button Held).
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
maxoku
Committed
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by maxoku »

Now the cursor vanishes. 🤦??? I'm reverting to beta 13. Two other problems has been fixed though.
phil wrote:
Mon Dec 23, 2019 11:19 am
everyone can see that - its at the bottom of the main forum page (for all users not just me) :)).
I don't visit that page. :lol:
I need to see this "skinny" cursor too because I'm not seeing it or maybe just not noticing it.
I'm too lazy and busy for recording, but I can do screenshots (beta 14). :P
cursor normal.jpg
This is how it normally look.
cursor chording.jpg
This is when I activate chording.
cursor text.jpg
Text cursor.
cursor text chording.jpg
Text cursor while chording.
Maxoku, are you using windows defaults or have you changed the cursors at all from windows Default (large/high contrast, custom cursors etc)? And what DPI are you running (as it may be relevant).
As you can see I'm using 3D cursors from previous version of Windows. 125% is the default DPI in win8.1.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by maxoku on Mon Dec 23, 2019 11:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

Another difference between us is I'd like much more Windows 10 cursor 2D :haha:
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by phil »

maxoku wrote:
Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:58 pm
Now the cursor vanishes. 🤦??? I'm reverting to beta 13. Two other problems has been fixed though.
What? Completely vanishes? Which cursor the arrow?
Please can you send me your cursor files (.cur) so I can try them here (on Windows 10 and 8.1 if thats what your on).

That's not going to be good if I release it like that. Oh well there goes the plan for this year Im away from tomorrow until the weekend and busy then!

EDIT: The standard cursors are working fine for me on Windows 8.1 and 10... As are all the other cursors that are available by default, so as requested, I **really** need the cursor files to try and reproduce this one - else its going to get released with vanishing cursors!

EDIT 2: Found these cursors here: http://www.rw-designer.com/cursor-set/3d-silver that have this vanishing effect. So hopefully I will be able to figure it out with those.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

Something's wrong with the layer change indicators on the cursor.
I have looping sequence on the RMB: layer 2 -> layer 3 -> layer 4 -> back to layer 2
On beta 13 when changing from layer 3 to layer 4 the '3' didn't vanish and it showed the '4' over it. But after that, when changing from layer 4 to layer 2 it was OK.
Now I upgraded to beta 15 and it became worse: the '3' doesn't vanish, it shows the '4' over it and then it shows the '2' over them and so on...

Regards!
Iliya
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by phil »

injtsvetkov wrote:
Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:31 pm
Something's wrong with the layer change indicators on the cursor.
I have looping sequence on the RMB: layer 2 -> layer 3 -> layer 4 -> back to layer 2
On beta 13 when changing from layer 3 to layer 4 the '3' didn't vanish and it showed the '4' over it. But after that, when changing from layer 4 to layer 2 it was OK.
Now I upgraded to beta 15 and it became worse: the '3' doesn't vanish, it shows the '4' over it and then it shows the '2' over them and so on...

Regards!
Iliya
OK I understand why this is happening. The image gets overlayed on the old one - I have to manually reset the cursors to default and then apply the new overlay (which resuls in a little flicker you may or may not notice).

This really is becoming a real pain - especially as I have found that with old cursor images (5that don't have transparency in them) it completely breaks. I rethink is required and that's going to delay everything some time! Its already ruined my Christmas (yay) as silly me was up until 5am this morning trying to find a solution (without success).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

Good you used 'flicker' word since I forgot to ask whether another green dots of 'Button Held' showed up in previous Beta's with little flickering. I know that's not dnamic, but maybe that was more smooth before, so with no visible vanishing icons to show another one during progress?
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by phil »

it has to reset to the "normal" cursor before it can apply the new overlay so you may notice it flick back to the normal cursor for a few milliseconds depending on how busy your PC is! Nothing much can be done about that as otherwise, it overlays on top of the old icons (and in the case of the dots, you see the red dots all the time, even though they are not in each overlay). Actually that's maybe a good reason not to have 3 dots, maybe just one (which will get overwritten by the first green dot overlay)!!!

Anyway I'm unavailable now for a few days - I wont get much time here
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

Have you considered making a background on the layer numbers (with or w/o border e.g. circle or rounded rectangle and maybe different colour for each layer or only 2 different colours for odd and even layers...). That way they will overlay completely and there won't be performance (flicker) issues. Not that I request that, I just think it might be a good idea :roll:
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

phil wrote:
Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:56 pm
Actually that's maybe a good reason not to have 3 dots, maybe just one (which will get overwritten by the first green dot overlay)!!!
I'm gonna say this again just in case you have missed it. Why not make the three points closer to each other so that they all get covered/overwritten by the first green dot...
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by phil »

injtsvetkov wrote:
Tue Dec 24, 2019 4:32 pm
Have you considered making a background on the layer numbers (with or w/o border e.g. circle or rounded rectangle and maybe different colour for each layer or only 2 different colours for odd and even layers...). That way they will overlay completely and there won't be performance (flicker) issues. Not that I request that, I just think it might be a good idea :roll:
Interesting idea but it will not look good as a cursor - especially if you have muse trails on as I do! It will be easier to just reset in between probably (or cache the source cursor image and re-apply it rather than using the current cursor. I'm sure I will find a way.

RE the red dots - I had missed that - in order to fit under the first green circle they would have to be very close and may just become a line! so not sure that will work - will have a look though after Christmas,

Enjoy the "holidays" everyone (if you indeed celebrate/take them).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.19 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

That is not big problem, the flickering, but I remember in the very first version when every of 3 another dots weren't next to each other like now, so with a little space between but every next showing up was overlaying the previous one there was all okey? That was time with no indicator yet, and the first was displayed once button was clicked. The dots were white in that time.

Of course indicator is okey, the first dot showing after the elapsed time for first of them is okey too.

I'm not sure but when there wasn't space between them the side flickering effiect wasn't present yet?

I like though how it's now, just suggesting maybe it can be made better without changing red dots indicator, as it flicks only when 2nd and 3rd green dots show up.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

Locked