Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
SamuilGuhonter
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:10 am

Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Post by SamuilGuhonter » Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:17 am

XMBC Version: 2.17
Windows Version: Win 10
Mouse Information (brand/model): HAMA Gaming Mouse uRage Reaper neo
Computer Information: x64
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC or Windows?: no
How long have you used XMBC?: 2 weeks
What language and keyboard layout do you use in Windows?: german

Clear description of the problem:
Hello, can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode? I want to use it in certain program and keep forgetting it is already active after booting the PC. I want it to be on but not active unless I activate the desired layer.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Post by phil » Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:20 pm

Urm, I'm not 100% sure.
There is a command line argument "/Disable" which disables XMBC if its already running - I'm not sure if that will disable it on startup if its not already running - it might do, probably worth a try. If it does then you can modify the startup shortcut (which is probably in the registry) to add that argument.

But why? If you leave the default profile and layer set to "nothing don't intercept" for all actions, thats pretty much the same thing is it not?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

SamuilGuhonter
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Post by SamuilGuhonter » Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:32 pm

I must confess I am a novice and not familiar with editing the setup or more than basic editing of the desired effect. To me it seemed a logical choice to have it start either active or inactive upon boot up, per tick box preferably, Basically a choice made available when setting up a layer.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6017
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Post by phil » Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:39 am

Well OK I understand (sort of)... That is not possible, except as I said, if the default layer has everything set to "Nothing (Don't Intercept)" (the default) then the mouse will be unchanged unless you switch layers, which is effectively the same as disabling XMBC until you switch layers is it not? (Am I missing something?)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

SamuilGuhonter
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Post by SamuilGuhonter » Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:41 am

You are right, having Layer 1 unconfigured would have the desired effect. I'll reset the config to layer 2 and then activate :) Now I feel like a doofus.

Post Reply