More than 5 mouse buttons

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
AnweshGangula
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:05 pm

More than 5 mouse buttons

Post by AnweshGangula » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:54 am

Can we use XMBC if I have a mouse with more than 5 buttons? I use Logitech G300 which 9 buttons totally including the basic 3 buttons(left, right, middle). But XMBC only recognizes 5 buttons of my mouse. Can I add more button to XMBC? How to customize the rest of the buttons?

I currently use Logitech Gaming software to customize, but I think XMBC is much better. So, I'd like to have a solution in XMBC.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5530
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: More than 5 mouse buttons

Post by phil » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:10 am

You can use XMBC with a mouse with any number of buttons, but it will only ever see the first 5 buttons. This is because XMBC uses Windows mouse hooks which only recognize the first 5 buttons. This is one of the most asked questions so the FAQ (and many posts here) explain this - sometimes in more detail if you want it!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

AnweshGangula
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: More than 5 mouse buttons

Post by AnweshGangula » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:59 am

Is there any way that I make use of those 4 extra mouse buttons?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5530
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: More than 5 mouse buttons

Post by phil » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:35 pm

Maybe you could use the logitech software that came with the mouse - does that not allow you to control those buttons?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

AnweshGangula
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: More than 5 mouse buttons

Post by AnweshGangula » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:43 pm

phil wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:35 pm
Maybe you could use the logitech software that came with the mouse - does that not allow you to control those buttons?
Yeah it does support the buttons, but it has limitations. I cannot assi9 double click actions and XMBC allows us to hover select the window which is the best feature that I like in it. But Logitech software doesn't have that

Post Reply