XMBC 2.16 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Tue May 16, 2017 7:14 pm

phil wrote:
Tue May 16, 2017 7:04 pm
So its been over a week now - and nothing new has crept out - do you think I should release 2.16 as is?
Of course, its only upon release that I will really know :)
I'd say go for it. I've experienced a few inconsistencies with the {ACTIVATE} tag failing to activate the window underneath the cursor when there are many open windows present - but I haven't been able to consistently reproduce them, so I've held back from reporting...

All in all, XMBC 2.16 has taken a very nice step forward! Thx Phil! -JT :)
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov » Tue May 16, 2017 7:31 pm

JTB3 wrote:
Tue May 16, 2017 7:14 pm
phil wrote:
Tue May 16, 2017 7:04 pm
So its been over a week now - and nothing new has crept out - do you think I should release 2.16 as is?
Of course, its only upon release that I will really know :)
All in all, XMBC 2.16 has taken a very nice step forward! Thx Phil! -JT :)
Agreed!

I'd say if you have the time to do it - then do it :thumbsup:
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Tue May 16, 2017 8:37 pm

I'll find some time sometime this week (not today :p)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Wed May 17, 2017 7:55 pm

OK 2.16 is released.
Thanks to everyone over the last few months for your patience and assistance.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Tue May 30, 2017 9:48 am

For everyone's information,

Two issues have crept out of the woodwork with the release of 2.16.
Due to their nature, I think I'm going to to a patch release (2.16.1) although I haven't fully made my mind up yet...
Better that though than force people with the new bugs (introduced into functions that were working prior to 2.16) to wait all the way till 2.17 whenever that may be.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
maxoku
Committed
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by maxoku » Tue May 30, 2017 3:12 pm

What issues? Maybe it's a better idea to release a next beta to check out if they're fixed before releasing 2.16.1 or something.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Tue May 30, 2017 3:34 pm

1. activate on scroll not working properly (bringing seemingly random windows to the foreground on other monitor!)
2. keys being held down when aborting sim key sequence early by releasing the button before the sequence us complete (something added in 2.16 which had negative side effects)

Doing a beta of a patch is not easy - Id have to go 2.17 beta 1 and then release as 2.16.1 - messy and will break the auto-update mech - so I'm still considering options.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
maxoku
Committed
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by maxoku » Tue May 30, 2017 10:00 pm

Well, seems that I wouldn't be able to test that. :?
Really you can't make 2.16.1 beta1? Maybe release just next beta for 2.16 to install manually by testers, not through the auto update system.

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Wed May 31, 2017 6:22 am

phil wrote:
Tue May 30, 2017 3:34 pm
1. activate on scroll not working properly (bringing seemingly random windows to the foreground on other monitor!)
2. keys being held down when aborting sim key sequence early by releasing the button before the sequence us complete (something added in 2.16 which had negative side effects)

Doing a beta of a patch is not easy - Id have to go 2.17 beta 1 and then release as 2.16.1 - messy and will break the auto-update mech - so I'm still considering options.
I'd go with a patch release since you aren't adding any new capabilities.
I too have been experiencing "bringing seemingly random windows to the foreground" with the {ACTIVATE} symkey tag. Perhaps (I hope) it's related. :)
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Wed May 31, 2017 7:32 am

it will be related - its the same function call used for both {activate} and activate on scroll and it was something I changed accidentally (because the MS docs suggested I was doing it wrong) in 2.16 beta 19 LOL :(
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
maxoku
Committed
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by maxoku » Wed May 31, 2017 12:54 pm

I've just noticed a bug. :?
When I open XMBC window from a tray I have a scrollbar in profile list. When I try to scroll it magically disappears. :P
prof list.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Wed May 31, 2017 7:58 pm

2.16 beta is over - you should really have started a new topic - but I'll let you off because I posted in here too yesterday :)

Do you also have lots of blank profiles in that list or is that photoshopped??!!
There should be a scroll bar if it is needed (i.e. you have more profiles than fit on one screen). I'm not seeing unwanted scrollbars here = does it happen every time?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
maxoku
Committed
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by maxoku » Wed May 31, 2017 8:20 pm

Well I was hoping you might include fix with 2.16.1. :P
I've photoshopped the titles of profiles, cuz I don't want to confuse anyone with my exotic applications. :lol:
The scrollbar isn't needed as you can see on the screenshot. And the proof for it is that scrollbar miraculously disappears after I try to scroll or click on it or with arrows navigate through profiles.
It happens everytime when I open a XMBC window from the tray. It doesn't happen when I minimize to taskbar etc.

The funny thing is that I didn't notice that before. I wounder if that just appeared recently? I mean some time after the update. Is that even possible? :?

I've just noticed something else. When I had select the lowest profile the scrollbar was scrolled a little down covering the upper profiles. After scrolling everything returns to their place. Maybe some of the blank space under the profiles are considered as taken space for a moment when the window is opened from tray or something?
new prof.jpg
new prof 2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5887
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by phil » Wed May 31, 2017 9:45 pm

It certainly is odd, Until I can reproduce it (and it seems fine on the three machines I have here locally) I'll just have to keep an eye out - maybe try on my win7/xp VMs... But a gui bug alone is most definitely not a contender for a patch.

My patch rules are strictly broken things that worked before and have a significant impact.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
maxoku
Committed
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.16 Beta

Post by maxoku » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:40 am

I've just deleted two profiles and now it's okay. I remember adding two profiles recently so that's why I didn't see that before. Now I have (if I'm counting right :P ) 26 profiles. It seems more is adding scrollbar, even if they fit to section. Up to 32 can fit and there's a little bit space left.
I'm sure that wasn't before (2.15 and some later betas) cuz I had more profiles than 26 and nothing like that happened.

Whatever number of profiles I have it always makes something like a bottom margin. Maybe you accidentally set some limits there or something?

PS: I've checked dates and it seems that I was cleaning my profiles just after beta5, so till then certainly everything was fine. So somewhere between beta 6 and 19 it had to happen.

Locked