I have upgraded the board - please let me know if you have any problems

Newbie questions

Utility to monitor network throughput on devices supporting SNMP such as the Vigor 2600, Billion 7402 & Cisco 2600.
mikefairbanks
New User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:07 am

Re: Newbie questions

Post by mikefairbanks » Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:43 am

The difference in the numbers seems to grow over time... here's what I see now after 12 days.

Month - 10.96 GB in - 2.76 GB out - 13.72 GB
Year - 10.84 GB in - 2.74 GB out - 13.59 GB
All - 10.74 GB in - 2.73 GB out - 13.47 GB

Mike
I'd rather be flying!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4928
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Post by phil » Wed Mar 24, 2010 1:16 am

Its very strange....
Ive had the same thing running on my WRT54GS (since I fixed the initial error you reported) and its kept in sync fine by the looks if things....

http://www.highrez.co.uk/mrtg/snmptp/wr ... mmary.html

I cant see how or why yours would be going out of sync.... Any errors in the log file?
can you email/pm me a copy of the log and the device xml (not the snmpthroughput.xml)? Maybe that will help tell me why your config is not keeping in sync.

The way the code works, it adds the session bytes to all totals at the same time - which makes it even more difficult to understand... How often have you got it running - mine is every 60 secods (1 minute) but I think the default is 5 minutes - not that that should make any difference to the totals :(

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

mikefairbanks
New User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:07 am

Re: Newbie questions

Post by mikefairbanks » Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:18 pm

OK, PM'd you with log and XML.

Thanks, Mike
I'd rather be flying!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4928
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Post by phil » Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:27 pm

OK there is nothing particually outstanding in the logs, except maybe the one difference is that you are running the application every 5 minutes or so.

Would it be possible to enable "run as daemon" and see if that makes any difference? When running in this mode, you only need to run the app once, and it will idle inbetween runs. Thats how I've run it for years (at a 1 minute interval) and Ive not notcied these problems that you are. It would certainly be interesting to see if that makes a difference.

I will also try and setup a system here which runs in the same way that you do to see if I can reproduce the problem.

One other thing... How stable is your connection and/or router (is it ADSL?) Maybe reconnects or reboots could cause this (although I suspect not because that should effect all values not just some).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4928
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Post by phil » Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:27 am

OK Ive been running here (not as demon) and I can say Ive got the same problem... So now I just need to work out why running not as demon causes this lose of data - very odd because internally it loads the data each time....

Ive rewritten quite a bit of the data load/save anyway - maybe that will help (it certainly sped it up a bit)
I'll let you know what I find.

EDIT: It seems that my rewrite of te XML load/save had fixed the problem. I will let it run for a day or so here to be sure.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

mikefairbanks
New User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:07 am

Re: Newbie questions

Post by mikefairbanks » Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:30 pm

With the month roll over mid week, I watched the values for day and month match, but week was different of course, while year and total still matched. Yesterday, month matched year and total still, so I'm confident you found the problem.

I would call this one fixed! Thanks again for all your help.
I'd rather be flying!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4928
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Post by phil » Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:50 pm

Brilliant :)

I think I will release this sometime over the easter break.

Thanks for the additional feedback.
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest