How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
viza
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 9:11 am

How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by viza »

How can I quickly temporary activate or deactivate one or more Simulated Key assignment only for specific program? If I using second layer and modifier keys it works system wide and not correctly.
Profile for this program is created and selected.
What can I do in modifier key settings in the right column white cells (default None)?
Last edited by viza on Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to temporary deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by phil »

Unfortunately, as of right now, the modifiers and global hotkeys (and any other way of disabling XMBC) is application wide (all profiles).
There is currently no way to setup modifiers/hotkeys on a per-profile basis.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

viza
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 9:11 am

Re: How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by viza »

Then maybe it is possible in the simulated Keys setting to made option when it works only with for example selected letter on the keyboard?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by phil »

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "the selected letter on the keyboard"?
Simulated keystrokes send keys - do you mean you only want them sent if another key is pressed?
It sounds to me like what you need is a more advanced scripting system, like AutoHotkey where you are able to completely define what you want to do in the AHK scripts, including looking at keyboard states and other things to your hearts content?!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

viza
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 9:11 am

Re: How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by viza »

I am working with the video editing software which can scroll timeline frame by frame only with arrow left and right on the keyboard.
I don't understand anything in scripts. My purpose is temporary to use the mouse wheel scrolling as a left and right keyboard arrows. May be it no matters system wide or not.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by phil »

If you use layers, and modifier keys to switch layers globally, so long as your layers for your application specific profile is setup as required, and the default layer is just set to "same as layer 1" or "nothing don't intercept" then it wont matter if you switch layers globally as only the application profile for the video editor will do something different on layer 2.

If the layer notifications/cursor change bother you, you can turn those off so its "silent" and should only have the impact with the video editor software.

But you do need to chose a modifier key that does not have any impact on the video editor - often for example CTRL+arrow will have a different meaning and thus choosing ctrl as the modifier key will cause the application to behave differently (maybe).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

viza
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 9:11 am

Re: How to temporary activate or deactivate Simulated Key assignment?

Post by viza »

phil wrote:
Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:55 am
But you do need to chose a modifier key that does not have any impact on the video editor.
It seems I found such keys combination, thank you.

Post Reply