are there problems relataed using more than 1 mice?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
gaia
Dedicated
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

are there problems relataed using more than 1 mice?

Post by gaia »

Hi

are there some issues if i use more than one mouse (same brand /differente model or 2 mices of different brands) in the same moment ?

thanks
_____________
XMouse 's lover

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6547
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: are there problems relataed using more than 1 mice?

Post by phil »

XMBC is unable to determine the source of mouse messages - that is, it uses Windows mouse hooks, which do not indicate the source.
So it depends what you mean by problems! Detecting the device is not possible - and if you send button down on two devices at the same time before button up, it could confuse things - what are you seeing?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gaia
Dedicated
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Re: are there problems relataed using more than 1 mice?

Post by gaia »

phil wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:37 am
XMBC is unable to determine the source of mouse messages - that is, it uses Windows mouse hooks, which do not indicate the source.
So it depends what you mean by problems! Detecting the device is not possible - and if you send button down on two devices at the same time before button up, it could confuse things - what are you seeing?
Hi Phil
it was just a question , i have seeing a very nice mouse on a store ,a Razer Orochi 7 button and i wonder if i can use in the same moment with my logitech
just a question
_____________
XMouse 's lover

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6547
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: are there problems relataed using more than 1 mice?

Post by phil »

You can have multiple mice connected to your PC at the same time. If you move both at the same time, they will "fight" each other :).
There are even some programs that *can* tell the difference between them - but most standard windows apps will see both mice as sending the same inputs, XMBC included.

So yes you can do it, just don't expect to be able to configure one mouse differently from the other in XMBC.

Oh also, XMBC will only be able to remap 5 of those 7 buttons (but I expect the Razor software will do the rest if need be - same as with any mouse with more than 5 buttons in XMBC)

Just an answer :)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply