Match process path?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
coldino
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 10:53 pm

Match process path?

Post by coldino » Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:27 pm

XMBC Version: 2.18.8

(apologies if this has been discussed - a search just threw up a load of irrelevant stuff)

I've been using this software for a few months now, totally replacing my mouse vendor's software with great success (for the Roccat Kova).

As the number of profiles grows I find I am generating significant duplication and would like to find ways to make it more efficient. In general I'd like a desktop profile and a gaming profile, then just a few variations on each for specific customisations. I can't find a way to cleanly do this using the current system without duplication.

Currently I can only create one profile per process name. This means I have to create a new profile for most games as I need to remap my extra buttons to keys (and therefore do not want this to happen for normal desktop use). If I could make a profile match a partial path of a process I could match all Steam games in one profile, for example. An example would be /steamapps/ (or .*/steamapps/.* as regex) to cover all games in all Steam libraries.

This wouldn't solve my issue entirely, but it sure would help. The only additional thing I can think of that wouldn't require a significant change to the profile system is a **Same as [some other] Profile** option for keys, to give a simplistic inheritance system.

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: Match process path?

Post by Kukurykus » Sat Dec 07, 2019 1:19 pm

If I'm right you're talking about 'incoming' XMBC 2.19 Beta:

596 - Look to improve the GUI for multiple apps per profile - maybe a sub-tree.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6293
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Match process path?

Post by phil » Sat Dec 07, 2019 1:41 pm

Currently you can only match on process name, not full/part of the path. You can however mate a profile to more than once process name so in theory your steam games profile could just list all the processes you want to activate it on.

In the process box on the "specific window" setup for the profile, simply type in multiple process names separated with || (you can use regex too but that probably over-complicates it. For example: "csgo.exe||farcry3.exe||farcry4.exe||gta5.exe||hl2.exe" will activate a single profile for all of those executes. Doing this by path will be something to look at adding in the future - its not a bad idea but potentially will be limited to specific scenarios like this one (where you have lots of similar apps under the same folder) - which is probably quite unusual.

Cleaning up the GUI will help, having a tree like structure but actually I think its more a user friendlyness type of thing and the actual functionality is already there.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

coldino
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 10:53 pm

Re: Match process path?

Post by coldino » Sat Dec 07, 2019 7:15 pm

Thanks for the response.

Multiple process names with || is something I missed - that helps significantly!
(still not as nice as being able to select all steam games in one go)

I would like to add a big +1 to the cascading profiles mentioned in 596.

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: Match process path?

Post by Kukurykus » Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:29 pm

Good for me, as beside double / triple clicking it is another long awaited feature by me ;)
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

Post Reply