First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Post Reply
bitonio6
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 am

First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by bitonio6 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:47 am

XMBC Version: 2.18.2
Windows Version: 10 home 64
Mouse Information (brand/model): Logitech OLD School

Hello, i would say thank you first to bring a solution where Logitech don't care when you have a great mouse, very strong since more than 15 years and you can't use it because Logitech don't manage that kind of mouse anymore. It work with an old tool called "MouseWare"...

So thank you to let me using that great mouse.

My question is about combination of two keybord key function.

I use {ALT}{F4} combination for the scroll switch (the 3rd button of the mouse), almost all the time it's closing different windows = Folders, Browser pages, etc... But it don't close official W10 windows, like "task manager".

If i use the ALT+F4 keyboard keys that close "task manager" but not my 3rd button of my mouse.

I need to do something else to improve the effect of that combination ?

:?:

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5907
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by phil » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:28 am

How and where did you install XMBC - or are you using the portable version?
I ask because to send keys to elevated windows, you need XMBC to be running as an accessibility tool and for that it needs to be installed under the c:\program files\ folder. If its not installed there, then it wont work as effectively.

Thanks Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

bitonio6
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 am

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by bitonio6 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:29 pm

So i just need to put the folder of XMBC portable in "c:\program files\" or i need to use a version of XMBC with installer ?

bitonio6
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 am

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by bitonio6 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:48 pm

So that's ok, it is necessary to use the "install" version, it's done and everything work now !

I don't know if it is me, but i don't see an option called "Start With Windows" (to have activated when you switch on your computer) ?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5907
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by phil » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:53 pm

The installed version of XMBC should automatically start with windows - the installation process adds an entry in the "startup" registry (for the all users). So it should start automatically. On widnows 8+ you can enable/disable this in the startup tab of task manager if need be. If for some reason, it is not there, then maybe there is an installation problem. In that case, let me know (I don't think anyone else has had such a problem).

There is not an option in XMBC itself as it is unable to write to the ALL USERS registry without elevated permissions and I'm not about to require admin to run XMBC just to change that one option (and having a separate process to do it would be overkill I think)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

bitonio6
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 am

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by bitonio6 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:00 pm

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"XMouseButtonControl"="C:\\Program Files\\Highresolution Enterprises\\X-Mouse Button Control\\XMouseButtonControl.exe /notportable /delay"

ok...

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5907
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by phil » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:35 pm

That looks correct.... so is it still not starting xmbc when windows starts up?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

bitonio6
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 am

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by bitonio6 » Sun Feb 24, 2019 12:14 pm

Yes and it's done everything i want, but sometime for no special reason, it's stop to close "system windows" ?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5907
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: First i send you a Big thank's ! (But i have a question)

Post by phil » Sun Feb 24, 2019 12:20 pm

It may still be a permissions issue. Is it random (the windows that wont close) or does it always fail to close a particular window?

Perhaps next time the problem occurs, you could turn on debug logging - you can setup a global hotkey to do this on the fly or you can go into settings and turn it on (it will not stay turned on next time XMBC loads). Then attempt to close the window again and (if it still fails) send me a copy of the log file. It might give some clues as to the window permissions and maybe why it didn't work.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply