Page 1 of 1

Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:17 am
by SamuilGuhonter
XMBC Version: 2.17
Windows Version: Win 10
Mouse Information (brand/model): HAMA Gaming Mouse uRage Reaper neo
Computer Information: x64
Did the problem occur after an upgrade of XMBC or Windows?: no
How long have you used XMBC?: 2 weeks
What language and keyboard layout do you use in Windows?: german

Clear description of the problem:
Hello, can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode? I want to use it in certain program and keep forgetting it is already active after booting the PC. I want it to be on but not active unless I activate the desired layer.

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:20 pm
by phil
Urm, I'm not 100% sure.
There is a command line argument "/Disable" which disables XMBC if its already running - I'm not sure if that will disable it on startup if its not already running - it might do, probably worth a try. If it does then you can modify the startup shortcut (which is probably in the registry) to add that argument.

But why? If you leave the default profile and layer set to "nothing don't intercept" for all actions, thats pretty much the same thing is it not?

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:32 pm
by SamuilGuhonter
I must confess I am a novice and not familiar with editing the setup or more than basic editing of the desired effect. To me it seemed a logical choice to have it start either active or inactive upon boot up, per tick box preferably, Basically a choice made available when setting up a layer.

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:39 am
by phil
Well OK I understand (sort of)... That is not possible, except as I said, if the default layer has everything set to "Nothing (Don't Intercept)" (the default) then the mouse will be unchanged unless you switch layers, which is effectively the same as disabling XMBC until you switch layers is it not? (Am I missing something?)

Re: Can X-Mouse autostart in a disabled mode?

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:41 am
by SamuilGuhonter
You are right, having Layer 1 unconfigured would have the desired effect. I'll reset the config to layer 2 and then activate :) Now I feel like a doofus.