[Suggestion] support for multiple connected mice

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
amiti
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:28 am

[Suggestion] support for multiple connected mice

Post by amiti » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:51 am

Windows Version: v2_16_1 (portable)
Computer Information: windows7 x64 with two trackballs

Can U please add support for multiple configurations for multiple mouse devices connected to the same computer.
Now it is possible to switch configurations manually but I think it possible to recognize each click and movement according to the usb/device address , thus allow to make the switch automatically with different configuration for each mouse.

Thank you,
Amiti

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: [Suggestion] support for multiple connected mice

Post by phil » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:35 am

Sorry, it is not possible to do this using the API's that XMBC uses - the FAQ does detail that.
There are tools that can determine the device, but they all include filter drivers, or are unable to block the original input (which would be useless in XMBC as the original button AND the remapped action would occur simultaneously. Unfortunately in order to make a mouse filter driver, you require a driver signing certificate which is expensive and not available to individuals/hobbyists (you need to be a publicly registered company to even apply for one).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
sukemaru
Committed
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: [Suggestion] support for multiple connected mice

Post by sukemaru » Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:11 pm

As workaround (alternative) - operation manually - , it will better to switch layers with global-hotkeys or button-chording (w/ simkeys {LAYER:<n>}).
... I like current XMBC that can use the same button-functions with multiple mice. :)

suke
Logitech AnywhereMX (7 Btn), M555b (5 Btn) w/ SetPoint v6.32
Microsoft WirelessLaserMouse8000 (5 Btn), WLM5000 (5 Btn) w/ IntelliPoint v6.30
XMBC: now Latest BETA as Portable (since v1.48, 2009)
OS: WinXP SP3 (32bit) / Locale: JPN

Post Reply