XMBC 2.18 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:00 pm

Well, its been a while (where has the time gone?) but here is 2.18 Beta 12 (with very few changes I'm afraid).

If you have check for beta versions enabled, you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.18 Beta 11:
  • #579 - Release held remapped button when switching layers and re-press on the new layer
  • #577 - Fix issue with some translations. Split up some simkey translations into separate lines and added {LMBU}/{LMBD} etc.
There ARE language template changes in 2.18 beta 12 - in fact that is the main thing that has changed!
language_template.xmbclp
Any problems, PM me a copy of the debug log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
sukemaru
Committed
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by sukemaru » Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:12 pm

Bug report:

I have been used the CTRL key as a layer modifier (Layer-3). In beta 12, it seems that "CTRL + MMB4" or "CTRL + MMB5" will be transmitted when only CTRL key is pressed, and XMBC further remapps "CTRL + MMB 4/5" to MMB4/MMB5's SIMKEYS of Layer-3. Even after releasing CTRL key up, the yellow-highlight-indication of MMB4 and MMB5 does not disappear.

Is it related to above...? Also, the frequency with which the LEFT or RIGHT button is kept depressed during FIREFOX running (even still backgrounded) is increasing, in this beta. :(


For the Translation template:

The line #439: I think that it should be correct.
"\t\t\te.g. {LMBD}, {LMBU}, {RMBD}, {RMBU}, {MB4D}, {MB5U} etc." => ""

The line #441: "Numeric keyoad tags: ..." is not displayed even in English screen (w/o any translation).

Thanks,
suke
Logitech AnywhereMX (7 Btn), M555b (5 Btn) w/ SetPoint v6.32
Microsoft WirelessLaserMouse8000 (5 Btn), WLM5000 (5 Btn) w/ IntelliPoint v6.30
XMBC: now Latest BETA as Portable (since v1.48, 2009)
OS: WinXP SP3 (32bit) / Locale: JPN

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:21 pm

Urm - eek... I made this change (#579) about 3 months ago but have not gotten around to publishing it until today...
The idea is that if you release the modifier key, it should release the layer's button and repress the button on the layer that was switched back to... But it sounds like there are some unintended side effects...

Certainly, it should not trigger any buttons when you simply press CTRL - thats odd.

Ive no idea what you mean by "Also, the frequency with which the LEFT or RIGHT button is kept depressed during FIREFOX running (even still backgrounded) is increasing, in this beta. :( " Have you remapped the left or right buttons? If not, there should be no impact... Its worth looking in the log file (with debug logging turned off) maybe I left some hard coded debug messages in there which could be delaying things - not something Ive noticed myself over the past few months though... so Im not sure.

As for the translation - yes, looks like I may have got that wrong - I'll check - and "Numeric keyoad tags" should be "Numeric keyboard tags" - again probably a screw up when I split the text up.. Will check and sort that (at least they are easy, even if I should have caught them before releasing it!)
The good news is that I hope the next beta will be available a little quicker (although the main issue may take some time to diagnose, I hope its not several months!)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
sukemaru
Committed
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by sukemaru » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:20 am

Thank you for quick replying.

Now there are many problem, i will rollback into Beta11, so please wait for the Beta12's log for a while.
And, it may be a problem that compatibility with foobar2000 is the cause of mouse inoperability ... more than Firefox. :?:

suke
Logitech AnywhereMX (7 Btn), M555b (5 Btn) w/ SetPoint v6.32
Microsoft WirelessLaserMouse8000 (5 Btn), WLM5000 (5 Btn) w/ IntelliPoint v6.30
XMBC: now Latest BETA as Portable (since v1.48, 2009)
OS: WinXP SP3 (32bit) / Locale: JPN

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:22 am

I dont know - there are not many changes in beta 12, certainly none that should impact performance - foobar or not!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:27 pm

Here is 2.18 Beta 13 to fix the bug that Suke found in 2.18 Beta 12.

If you have check for beta versions enabled, you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.18 Beta 12:
  • #579 - Fix an issue which inverted the 4th and 5th button causing them to get sent on layer change and apparently stick down.
  • #577 - Fix two issue in language changes made in 2.18 Beta 12.
There is one language template change in 2.18 beta 13 to fix one little issue in the text added in beta 12 (second {RMBD} should be {RMBDU})
NOTE: For Suke and AndyK (who have already provided beta 12 language packs), I have updated them and you should not need to do anything.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the debug log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
sukemaru
Committed
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by sukemaru » Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:08 pm

Thank you for the quick fixing. :)
I tried beta 13 for several hours, but as of now the issues reported as above have not occurred !
I sent PM w/ my settings file to you.

suke
Logitech AnywhereMX (7 Btn), M555b (5 Btn) w/ SetPoint v6.32
Microsoft WirelessLaserMouse8000 (5 Btn), WLM5000 (5 Btn) w/ IntelliPoint v6.30
XMBC: now Latest BETA as Portable (since v1.48, 2009)
OS: WinXP SP3 (32bit) / Locale: JPN

User avatar
AndyK
Committed
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:38 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by AndyK » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:18 pm

Hi,

please remove one "{RMBD}" - it is present twice in the German translation

line 439
"\t\t\te.g. {LMBD}, {LMBU}, {RMBD}, {RMBU}, {MB4D}, {MB5U} etc." => "\t\t\tz.B. {LMBD}, {LMBU}, {RMBD}, {RMBU}, {RMBD}, {MB4D}, {MB5U} usw."
Andy

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:46 pm

Will do!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta 14

Post by phil » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:48 pm

Here is 2.18 Beta 14...

If you have check for beta versions enabled, you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.18 Beta 13:
  • #587 - Fixed issue with window region profile where it did not always activate the profile.
  • #586 - Fixed issue with {HOLD} and {HOLDMS} with just a modifier tag ({CTRL}{ALT}etc.)
  • #583 - Added Slow down cursor (while pressed) and Slow down cursor (sticky) actions.
  • #581 - Added {CURSORBUSY} and {CURSORDEFAULT} simkey tags to change the cursor.
There are two new strings in the language template (for the two new button actions #583.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the debug log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:20 pm

Here is 2.18 Beta 15...

If you have check for beta versions enabled, you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.18 Beta 14:
  • #587 - Fixed issue with regions of child windows and regions for profiles like explorer.exe which shouldn't trigger for desktop/taskbar.
*** Please test profile detection to check I haven't broken anything! ***

There are no new language strings in 2.18 Beta 15 (the last language change was in 2.18 Beta 14).

Any problems, PM me a copy of the debug log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Committed
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:36 pm

I updated to Beta 15 and found like you assumed it affected profiles that I can't work now like I used.
I was forced to downgrade to 2.18 Beta 14: https://vps2.highrez.co.uk/downloads/XM ... Beta14.exe

For Adobe Bridge (that is images browser) it works since I guess everything there is seen as the whole (though divided into sections), but for Photoshop it doesn't when for ex. I set image to full screen, the mode I use the most. While hovering rest of area of Photoshop I press mouse button it triggers bound simulated keys, but if a cursor is over opened image (even not in full screen mode) then unless I click somewhere else, so on usual Photoshop (background) workspace incl. panels then XMBC doesn't react.

The problem with Photoshop may be caused by the fact that both any image as well as sole Photoshop are having the same window name. I know it as I've found it using Autohotkey. So for my needs I had to make some workarounds that distinquish images from the app. I don't know if that is the case, just tip for you.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:44 pm

Kukurykus wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:36 pm
I updated to Beta 15 and found like you assumed it affected profiles that I can't work now like I used.
I most certainly DID NOT ASSUME it would break anything and I hoped it would not as I thought I had tested it enough and that it was all working. Clearly not :(.

The main change I feared may have an impact was that previously, XMBC split EVERY window of the process up into 4 (quadrants) rather than the top level window (assuming no class/parent class is specified).

Now, if (and only if) the class name and parent class name are empty, XMBC uses the TOP LEVEL (owner) window for the process for quadrant/region detection.

So it should have no impact on your profiles if you have class names setup :(.

So there I don't really understand why photoshop would work any differently than before. Why is it always expensive software that has problems which I cant test with!?!!! :(

Can you PM me a copy of your profile so I can look at the window settings?

EDIT: Also what version of photoshop (just in case I can get hold of something to test with)?

EDIT2: Actually, its probably that its less sensitive to mouse movement now (because before any subwindow would cause it to recheck its profile and now, only when moving the mouse between quadrantes of the parent window will cause it to re-check).. So maybe the "cache" invalidator still needs to be called for ALL sub windows, but the profile check should work as above. This may take a few alpha's to iron out with you because I don't have Photoshop!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Committed
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:45 pm

I used 'assumed' word as I refered to red text I saw in your 'update' post, that normally (at all?) you don't use. It looked like you were supposing something could not working well, so it is why I started that way.

I sent to you PM with XMBC settings.

If you'd like to test it on your own:

The Photoshop Profile is the last one, named: 'Plótno'
The key to test is 'Middle Button' (button held / F2).


It always worked well till now with every Photoshop I used.

Ps. to make it easier for you if you had chance to check it in Ps, just use any mouse button with anything that can be done by shortcut on open/new document in Photoshop to see that works while (un)hovering active document.


Only many years ago I remember XMBC had problem with seeing 'windows' in Photoshop CS2 the 'right' way, but that was fault of Ps, not XMBC, that was sorted out with some another release, surely worked from CS5 on. When I'm home I'll test Beta 15 also with Ps 2019, but I predict that will be same, as so far with Beta 14 and earlier versions there wasn't this problem in verious Ps releases I used XMBC with.

Right now at work I experience the problem with CS6. btw I didn't edit once set Ps or any other profile if I remeber well, so if last Beta 15 made changes to that specific settings it also influenced on only profile.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.18 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:10 pm

OK thanks for all the info.
For what its worth, Beta 15 wont have made and settings changes - its just in the way the code loos for that active window which has cause the problems - and possible the "caching" which I may have made unintentionally stronger (so it does not check as often as before).

I'll be in touch - but I probably wont get a chance to loo at it in any detail before the weekend!

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply