4th button and Windows10 showing start menu

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
gasbag
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm

4th button and Windows10 showing start menu

Post by gasbag » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:51 pm

Hi.
I have used the 4th button so far without problems.
But now, pressing 4th always opens the Start-menu in Windows 10 and my assignment to another function is ignored. Please, does anyone have an idea where is a mistake?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by phil » Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:39 pm

No obvious thoughts off the top of my head, but wow... how many of the posting rules can you break in one post... :)
I have moved this to the correct forum (XMBC).

Can you please give a little more information - what have you mapped that is no longer working?
What version of XMBC?
Did it stop working after an XMBC update or just "randomly"
Did you change anything?

Normally the only way to open the start menu would be to send a {WIN} key tag in simulated keystrokes (and I'm guessing thats not what you are doing!).
Posting Rules

Post your question ONCE in the correct forum. For XMBC issues, question or anything mouse related, use the XMBC forum!
For software bugs/problems/issues, provide as much information as possible. For example:
A clear description of the problem
Portable or Installed (where was it installed)?
OS Version and edition (x64, x86 etc.)[/color]
Version of the software you are running
Number of CPU (cores) and CPU model/speed
Available/Total memory
Mouse hardware/drivers
Language and keyboard layout used
Debug logs where applicable
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gasbag
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by gasbag » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:05 pm

I apologize very much for the introduction and thank you for your patience

I am using "Layer 1" only
"Mouse Button 4" is mapped to "Media - Play/Pause" in "Default" profile

Problem:
Until recently, with this setting, button 4 worked correctly.
Today, the 4 button setting in the X-Mouse is the same, but it does not set the function.
Instead, the button works by opening the Windows Start menu.
I'm not aware of any changes to the OS configuration.

Portable or Installed (where was it installed)?
Installed: c:\Program Files\Highresolution Enterprises\X-Mouse Button Control\XMouseButtonControl.exe

OS Version and edition (x64, x86 etc.)[/color]
Microsoft Windows 10 Home Edition (build 15063), 64-bit

Version of the software you are running
X-Mouse Button Control Version 2.17

Number of CPU (cores) and CPU model/speed
Pentium Dual-Core CPU E6700 3.2GHz

Available/Total memory
Physical 945 MB/3GB
Virtual 5,07GB/7.59GB

Mouse hardware/drivers
Genius NX-6550 USB, Driver Version 1.3.3.1

Language and keyboard layout used
Czech language, Czech QWERTY keyboard layout

Debug logs where applicable
*******************************************************************************************************************************************
24-02-3918 16:53:48.128> X-Mouse Button Control v2.17 (x64) Startup. Commandline ''
24-02-3918 16:53:48.147> Running in high integrity mode (0x00003000)
24-02-3918 16:53:48.149> Loaded 2 application specific profiles (2 normal and 0 custom window).
24-02-3918 16:53:48.150> NewApplicationSettings: SPIThread is not initialised.
24-02-3918 16:53:48.150> Running on Microsoft Windows 10 Home Edition (build 16299), 64-bit, Hook Timeout: 1000 ms
24-02-3918 16:53:48.150> Startup folder: 'C:\Program Files\Highresolution Enterprises\X-Mouse Button Control\'
24-02-3918 16:53:48.150> Settings (and log) folder: 'C:\Users\j\AppData\Roaming\Highresolution Enterprises\XMouseButtonControl\'
24-02-3918 16:53:48.153> Unable to find suitable English keyboard layout...
24-02-3918 16:53:48.153> Loading US English.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by phil » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:20 pm

Brilliant - thanks for the updated information.

Can you try something for me, enable debug logging (in settings -> logging & updates) OK and apply that, then try pressing button 4 a few times. After that, send me the log again, it should have much more in it this time and will at least establish if XMBC thinks it is sending play/pause or something else.

Another thing to try, if you exit XMBC completely, what does button 4 do then (if anything) (just to rule out any other software changing the button.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gasbag
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by gasbag » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:48 pm

Visible reaction after pressing "Mouse Button 4" is the same with XMBC running and with XMBC exited completely (It works the same as when I press the "Windows key" on the keyboard.)
Here is log after some pressing "Mouse Button 4" with debug logging enabled:

*******************************************************************************************************************************************

Code: Select all

24-02-3918 18:37:26.341> X-Mouse Button Control v2.17 (x64) Startup. Commandline ''
24-02-3918 18:37:26.367> Running in high integrity mode (0x00003000)
24-02-3918 18:37:26.371> Loaded 2 application specific profiles (2 normal and 0 custom window).
24-02-3918 18:37:26.371> NewApplicationSettings: SPIThread is not initialised.
24-02-3918 18:37:26.371> Running on Microsoft Windows 10 Home Edition (build 16299), 64-bit, Hook Timeout: 1000 ms
24-02-3918 18:37:26.371> Startup folder: 'C:\Program Files\Highresolution Enterprises\X-Mouse Button Control\'
24-02-3918 18:37:26.372> Settings (and log) folder: 'C:\Users\j\AppData\Roaming\Highresolution Enterprises\XMouseButtonControl\'
24-02-3918 18:37:26.374> Unable to find suitable English keyboard layout...
24-02-3918 18:37:26.375> Loading US English.
24-02-3918 18:37:34.433> CMyMessageWnd::OnSetup   -   Opening setup dialog.
24-02-3918 18:37:34.454> Loaded 2 application specific profiles (2 normal and 0 custom window).
24-02-3918 18:38:13.455> Applying changes to X-Mouse Button Control settings...
24-02-3918 18:38:13.461> Enabling extra debug logging.
24-02-3918 18:38:13.463> ApplicationSettings; Total wait time for keys '{CTRL}' is 1ms
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464> ApplicationSettings; Total wait time for keys '{CTRL}' is 1ms
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464> Loaded the following settings:
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   OfficeMouse: 0, RazorMoouse: 0, ScrollUnder: 1, ScrollLockBypass: 0, ScrollLockBypassDisabled: 0, Swap4and5: 0
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   Swap4and5inRDP: 0, DisableInRDP: 0, DisableInvertedScrollInRDP: 0, ShowTrayIcon: 1, DisableReinstallOnResume: 0, Notifications: 1 (Layer 1), MovementToScrollCursor: 1
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   ResetStickyOnAnyButton: 0, ResetStickyOnAnyKey: 0, ResetStickyOnLayerChange: 1, GlobalHotkeys: 0, LayerModifierKeys: 0, ProcessNonClientMsgs: 1
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   IgnoreNumlock: 1, LeftClickCycleLayers: 0, RemapSimInput: 1, FixTiltRepeat: 0, InitialTiltDelay: 200, RepeatTiltDelay: 100
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   CheckVersion: 1, CheckVersionDays: 5, CheckBetaVersion: 0, MouseOver: 0, ActivateScroll: 0
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   ActivateOver: 0, FixVS2010: 0, CPUPriority: 128, SimKeyDelay: 1, No. Layers: 1
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   EnableOSD: 1, AlwaysShowOSD: 0, LoadUSEnglish: 1, DebounceButtons: 0, DebounceFromUp: 0, DebounceTime: 50
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   MouseJiggler: 0, MouseJigglerTimeout: 30, SortActionsAplhabetically: 0
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   SearchURL: 'https://www.google.com/search?q='
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   LanguageFile: ''
24-02-3918 18:38:13.464>   There are 2 application specific profiles (2 normal and 0 custom window).
24-02-3918 18:38:13.465> HookDLL: Load Settings took 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:13.465> SPI is already (3, 0) - no need for further change
24-02-3918 18:38:32.470> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0201 (WM_LBUTTONDOWN), X=1345, Y=806, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35889203, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:32.470> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x001807D8 to 0x000101A0. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:32.470> GetProcessIntegrityLevel for 0x00000244 returned 0x00001000
24-02-3918 18:38:32.471> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Got name for PID 5188, 'searchui.exe' using GetProcessImageFileName
24-02-3918 18:38:32.471> GetProcessName result 1 time 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:32.471> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 000101A0.
24-02-3918 18:38:32.471> Translating Left Button Down Key state 0x0: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:32.471> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000201 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:32.559> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0202 (WM_LBUTTONUP), X=1345, Y=806, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35889296, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:32.559> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x000101A0 to 0x00270898. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:32.559> GetProcessIntegrityLevel for 0x00000390 returned 0x00003000
24-02-3918 18:38:32.559> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Got name for PID 2872, 'xmousebuttoncontrol.exe' using GetProcessImageFileName
24-02-3918 18:38:32.559> GetProcessName result 1 time 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:32.560> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 00270898.
24-02-3918 18:38:32.560> Translating Left Button Up Key state 0x1: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:32.560> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000202 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:32.610> CMyMessageWnd::OnSetup   -   Setup dialog closed.
24-02-3918 18:38:32.633> ApplicationSettings; Total wait time for keys '{CTRL}' is 1ms
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634> ApplicationSettings; Total wait time for keys '{CTRL}' is 1ms
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634> Loaded the following settings:
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   OfficeMouse: 0, RazorMoouse: 0, ScrollUnder: 1, ScrollLockBypass: 0, ScrollLockBypassDisabled: 0, Swap4and5: 0
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   Swap4and5inRDP: 0, DisableInRDP: 0, DisableInvertedScrollInRDP: 0, ShowTrayIcon: 1, DisableReinstallOnResume: 0, Notifications: 1 (Layer 1), MovementToScrollCursor: 1
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   ResetStickyOnAnyButton: 0, ResetStickyOnAnyKey: 0, ResetStickyOnLayerChange: 1, GlobalHotkeys: 0, LayerModifierKeys: 0, ProcessNonClientMsgs: 1
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   IgnoreNumlock: 1, LeftClickCycleLayers: 0, RemapSimInput: 1, FixTiltRepeat: 0, InitialTiltDelay: 200, RepeatTiltDelay: 100
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   CheckVersion: 1, CheckVersionDays: 5, CheckBetaVersion: 0, MouseOver: 0, ActivateScroll: 0
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   ActivateOver: 0, FixVS2010: 0, CPUPriority: 128, SimKeyDelay: 1, No. Layers: 1
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   EnableOSD: 1, AlwaysShowOSD: 0, LoadUSEnglish: 1, DebounceButtons: 0, DebounceFromUp: 0, DebounceTime: 50
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   MouseJiggler: 0, MouseJigglerTimeout: 30, SortActionsAplhabetically: 0
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   SearchURL: 'https://www.google.com/search?q='
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   LanguageFile: ''
24-02-3918 18:38:32.634>   There are 2 application specific profiles (2 normal and 0 custom window).
24-02-3918 18:38:32.635> HookDLL: Load Settings took 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:32.635> SPI is already (3, 0) - no need for further change
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0201 (WM_LBUTTONDOWN), X=1727, Y=1065, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35891203, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x00270898 to 0x000104B8. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> GetProcessIntegrityLevel for 0x00000244 returned 0x00002000
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Got name for PID 1700, 'totalcmd64.exe' using GetProcessImageFileName
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> GetProcessName result 1 time 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 000104B8.
24-02-3918 18:38:34.471> Translating Left Button Down Key state 0x0: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:34.472> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000201 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:34.519> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0202 (WM_LBUTTONUP), X=1727, Y=1065, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35891265, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:34.519> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x000104B8 to 0x0001009E. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:34.519> GetProcessIntegrityLevel for 0x00000390 returned 0x00002000
24-02-3918 18:38:34.519> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Got name for PID 5532, 'explorer.exe' using GetProcessImageFileName
24-02-3918 18:38:34.520> GetProcessName result 1 time 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:34.520> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 0001009E.
24-02-3918 18:38:34.520> Translating Left Button Up Key state 0x1: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:34.520> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000202 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:36.414> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0204 (WM_RBUTTONDOWN), X=1792, Y=958, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35893156, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:36.414> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x0001009E to 0x000100BC. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Called for the same PID 5532 [] but as it is explorer.exe, we will check anyway HWND 0x00000000
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> GetProcessIntegrityLevel for 0x00000244 returned 0x00002000
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Got name for PID 5532, 'explorer.exe' using GetProcessImageFileName
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> GetProcessName result 1 time 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 000100BC.
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> Translating Right Button Down Key state 0x0: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:36.415> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000204 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0205 (WM_RBUTTONUP), X=1792, Y=958, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35893250, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x000100BC to 0x002109F6. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> GetProcessIntegrityLevel for 0x00000244 returned 0x00003000
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> GetProcessName(3 ProcessButton): Got name for PID 2872, 'xmousebuttoncontrol.exe' using GetProcessImageFileName
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> GetProcessName result 1 time 0ms
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 002109F6.
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> Translating Right Button Up Key state 0x2: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:36.511> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000205 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:37.214> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0201 (WM_LBUTTONDOWN), X=1729, Y=952, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35893953, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:37.214> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x002109F6 to 0x002109F6. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:37.215> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 002109F6.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.215> Translating Left Button Down Key state 0x0: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:37.215> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000201 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:37.319> MouseHookLLProc: MouseHookData: Msg=0x0202 (WM_LBUTTONUP), X=1729, Y=952, Data=0x00000000, Flags=0x00000000, Time=35894062, Info=0x0, Ptr=0x2E0891, Layer=0
24-02-3918 18:38:37.319> ProcessButton: Detected active HWND changed from 0x002109F6 to 0x002109F6. Getting process name...
24-02-3918 18:38:37.319> ProcessButton: Profile has not changed when hWnd changed to 002109F6.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.319> Translating Left Button Up Key state 0x1: Action 40 [** No Change (Don't intercept) **]
24-02-3918 18:38:37.319> MouseHookLLProc: Passing original mouse message 00000202 through....
24-02-3918 18:38:37.321> Exit requested by the user.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.324> Removing any active XMBCHook Timers...
24-02-3918 18:38:37.324> Removed active timers.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.325> Timer thread exited with error code 0.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.325> HookThread: Finished the message loop. Cleaning up...
24-02-3918 18:38:37.325> Removing keyboard hook...
24-02-3918 18:38:37.325> Removed keyboard hook.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.325> Removing mouse hook...
24-02-3918 18:38:37.325> Removed mouse hook.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.347> CSendInput: Exiting SendInput thread.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.348> SendParameterInfo: Exiting thread.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.348> HookThread: Finished cleaning up.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.348> Hook thread exited with error code 0.
24-02-3918 18:38:37.348> RemoveMouseHook took 31ms
24-02-3918 18:38:37.348> X-Mouse Button Control Shutdown.

gasbag
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by gasbag » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:16 pm

I did a test "Mouse Button 4" with another mouse (Logitech M325) and with the same XMBC setting - it works correctly. That is why we may consider my problem to be resolved as it seems. Thank you very much for your time, phil.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by phil » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:28 pm

Yes, that makes sense, because that log shows no evidence of button 4 being pressed - which means XMBC is not seeing the button.
This probably means that your mouse has got some configuration which alters the button behavior (logitech often have this ability using their setpoint software). It might be worth doing a google on that for your particular mouse.

Another thing I should have suggested, is to check that the dropdown in XMBC highlights in orange when the button is pressed (because that will also prove if XMBC is seeing it or not) but the debug log has done that and more already.

Thanks, and good luck finding how to reconfigure the mouse!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gasbag
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by gasbag » Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:19 am

Yes, phil, the dropdown in XMBC not highlights in orange when the button 4 on my original mouse is pressed now. This confirms your interpretation of the debug log - XMBS works correctly.

I'm sorry, that I did not start the tests with another mouse. I was blinded by the fact that the original mouse worked for a long time right. The possibility of its random hidden reconfiguration or hw degradation has not come to my mind before.

Thank you very much for all

gasbag
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by gasbag » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:57 am

Once again for your information, Phil

The combination of pressing three other buttons simultaneously on NX-6550 switches between the two functions of button 4.

Once again I apologize and many thanks

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 4th button and Windows10

Post by phil » Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:28 pm

Well found - and no problem - glad I could help you figure it out - and thank you for posting the solution here because its sure to help someone else!

Ive edited the thread title a little so others searching for this issue may find it easier.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply