Page 1 of 1

'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:49 pm
by badbob001
'Activate window when scrolling' generally works, but not between multiple chrome window. When I have my mouse wheel send a simulated key and prepend {ACTIVATE}, now it works:
{ACIVATE}{PGUP}
{ACIVATE}{PGDN}

So is there some logic with 'Activate window when scrolling' where it will only send an 'activate' when the process under the cursor is different from the previously activated process? That would explain why it doesn't work with chrome windows since all the windows are the same process. If this is the case, can we have an option to always send {activate}?

Otherwise, how can I send an {activate} before the standard mouse wheel up and down? Do I need to replace the wheel action with simulated keystrokes?
{ACTIVATE}{UP}{UP}{UP}
{ACTIVATE}{DOWN}{DOWN}{DOWN}
Seems clunky.

Re: 'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:02 am
by phil
I'm not sure but i think that rings a bell (as in if the process is already active, its not sent again.
I'll try and take a look when I get a moment (not likely to be in the next 2 weeks as I'm insanely busy at work!

Re: 'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:33 pm
by badbob001
Based on info from another thread, I may have a workaround:
wheelup = {ACTIVATE}{MWUP}
wheeldn = {ACTIVATE}{MWDN}

Re: 'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:42 pm
by phil
This behaviour was introduced intentionally to fix a problem where the chrome bookmarks windows does not scroll if the active is always sent.
I'm not sure if I can make it more specific, so it activates unless its the bookmark window (or what else that may impact). I'll have a look but no promises, esp. as you have a workaround.

Edit: I think I have found a suitable compromise. Check in the next beta for me please.