'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
badbob001
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:16 pm

'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Post by badbob001 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:49 pm

'Activate window when scrolling' generally works, but not between multiple chrome window. When I have my mouse wheel send a simulated key and prepend {ACTIVATE}, now it works:
{ACIVATE}{PGUP}
{ACIVATE}{PGDN}

So is there some logic with 'Activate window when scrolling' where it will only send an 'activate' when the process under the cursor is different from the previously activated process? That would explain why it doesn't work with chrome windows since all the windows are the same process. If this is the case, can we have an option to always send {activate}?

Otherwise, how can I send an {activate} before the standard mouse wheel up and down? Do I need to replace the wheel action with simulated keystrokes?
{ACTIVATE}{UP}{UP}{UP}
{ACTIVATE}{DOWN}{DOWN}{DOWN}
Seems clunky.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5527
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Post by phil » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:02 am

I'm not sure but i think that rings a bell (as in if the process is already active, its not sent again.
I'll try and take a look when I get a moment (not likely to be in the next 2 weeks as I'm insanely busy at work!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

badbob001
New User
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:16 pm

Re: 'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Post by badbob001 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:33 pm

Based on info from another thread, I may have a workaround:
wheelup = {ACTIVATE}{MWUP}
wheeldn = {ACTIVATE}{MWDN}

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5527
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: 'Activate window when scrolling' not always working.

Post by phil » Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:42 pm

This behaviour was introduced intentionally to fix a problem where the chrome bookmarks windows does not scroll if the active is always sent.
I'm not sure if I can make it more specific, so it activates unless its the bookmark window (or what else that may impact). I'll have a look but no promises, esp. as you have a workaround.

Edit: I think I have found a suitable compromise. Check in the next beta for me please.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply