keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Post Reply
gaia
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by gaia » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:28 pm

Hi to all
i'm new
i own 2 mouses (mices) logitech ,with several button
right now i'm using a 8 button mouse and i found out x-mouse and it's amazing , i really felt in love with it

but i have just few question?

well i create an application profile for an application (now i'm doing just an example musicbee , a music player)

well i set up button 4 and 5 to play the next song or play the previous song

i'm asking if x-mouse could be even more powerfull , for example use keyboard shortcut

for example , i have set up button 4 & 5 to play next and previous song , but could i use for example CTRL+button mouse 4 or 5 for example to rise up and down the volume ?

i just did an example with ctrl , but using left or right ALT would be awesome to power up x-mouse power
can i do it?
and if yes how?

about layers , i have only 2 , how can add new layer , i read in the manual i can have 10

second question , is there a way to avoid the to write the log ? and is there an alternative for macos ? for an imac? would super have a program like x-mouse for osx too

thanks

User avatar
Dolmatov
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by Dolmatov » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:14 pm

well i set up button 4 and 5 to play the next song or play the previous song

i'm asking if x-mouse could be even more powerfull , for example use keyboard shortcut

for example , i have set up button 4 & 5 to play next and previous song , but could i use for example CTRL+button mouse 4 or 5 for example to rise up and down the volume ?
Try simulated keys.
Example:
{CTRL} {MB4/XMB1}
{CTRL} {MB5/XMB2}
About ctrl and the multimedia keys:
Most likely you need to use {VKC: n} / {EXT: n} or even use the "Window Messages" tags.

User avatar
Dolmatov
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by Dolmatov » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:45 pm

In the help little information about virtual codes, tried to pick up from the table and unsuccessfully.
https://api.farmanager.com/ru/winapi/vi ... codes.html

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5196
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by phil » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:59 pm

gaia wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:28 pm
i'm asking if x-mouse could be even more powerfull , for example use keyboard shortcut

for example , i have set up button 4 & 5 to play next and previous song , but could i use for example CTRL+button mouse 4 or 5 for example to rise up and down the volume ?

i just did an example with ctrl , but using left or right ALT would be awesome to power up x-mouse power
can i do it?
and if yes how?

about layers , i have only 2 , how can add new layer , i read in the manual i can have 10
You can use layers and layer modifier keys to do this - but I don't think layers will distinguish between left and right ALT keys at the moment.
You can increase the number of layers on the settings -> general settings tab (number of layers).
You can assign layer modifier keys which temporarily switch layers while the key is held down, of global hotkeys to switch layers when triggered. The layer can also revert back to another layer after a per-determind time if required.

Bear in mind that if you are holding a layer modfier key down, that may impact the message received by the application - so finding a suitable key can be tricky sometimes!

You can also use button chording to combine buttons to do different actions, for example, MB4 + scroll up/down to change volume.
In 2.17 (current beta) you can perform different actions depending on how long you hold the button (up to 4 actions at different times).
gaia wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:28 pm
second question , is there a way to avoid the to write the log ? and is there an alternative for macos ? for an imac? would super have a program like x-mouse for osx too
If you start XMBC with the option /NOLOG (in the shortcut command line) then it wont write a log file. However, the log by default is quite minimal and can be useful so generally I wouldn't recommend disabling it completely - its up to you though!

I don't know what you mean by 1alternate for macros"
I don't know about an OSX tool like XMBC - I don't use a mac so have never looked, sorry!

Regards,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gaia
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by gaia » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:29 am

phil wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:59 pm

You can use layers and layer modifier keys to do this - but I don't think layers will distinguish between left and right ALT keys at the moment.
You can increase the number of layers on the settings -> general settings tab (number of layers).
You can assign layer modifier keys which temporarily switch layers while the key is held down, of global hotkeys to switch layers when triggered. The layer can also revert back to another layer after a per-determind time if required.
hi
thank you so much for the answer
if i have understand , well just an exampl , i have setup 2 keys to play prev and next song
so i can use for alt or ctrl to use enable layer 2 and use these 2 buttons to play prev or next album,right?
but shoul i enable in the global key or modifier key
this make it really very very powerful
but if i use left ctrl to enable layer 2 , this does activate layer 2 for all the applications
have settings to add key to enable a second or 3 layer for each application would be really amazing
i guess it needs hard coding work

Bear in mind that if you are holding a layer modfier key down, that may impact the message received by the application - so finding a suitable key can be tricky sometimes!
You can also use button chording to combine buttons to do different actions, for example, MB4 + scroll up/down to change volume.
In 2.17 (current beta) you can perform different actions depending on how long you hold the button (up to 4 actions at different times).
sorry , but i did not understood these 2 instances
gaia wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:28 pm
second question , is there a way to avoid the to write the log ? and is there an alternative for macos ? for an imac? would super have a program like x-mouse for osx too
I don't know what you mean by 1alternate for macros"
I don't know about an OSX tool like XMBC - I don't use a mac so have never looked, sorry!
sorry a typo error , i wanted to write macos (osx ,el capitan sierra or high sierra)
thanks a lot Phil !
Last edited by gaia on Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

gaia
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by gaia » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:36 am

Dolmatov wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:14 pm
well i set up button 4 and 5 to play the next song or play the previous song

i'm asking if x-mouse could be even more powerfull , for example use keyboard shortcut

for example , i have set up button 4 & 5 to play next and previous song , but could i use for example CTRL+button mouse 4 or 5 for example to rise up and down the volume ?
Try simulated keys.
Example:
{CTRL} {MB4/XMB1}
{CTRL} {MB5/XMB2}
About ctrl and the multimedia keys:
Most likely you need to use {VKC: n} / {EXT: n} or even use the "Window Messages" tags.
hi
sorry i did not understand about {VKC: n} / {EXT: n} , i read the link ,it's mostly in russian
for example VK_BROWSER_REFRESH does it work with xmouse?
and i have never seen a left and right windows key in any keyboard on desktop keyboard , do you mean the menu key (between right alt gr and right ctrl)
thanks

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5196
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by phil » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:56 am

VK_BROWSER_REFRESH is what happens when you select "Browser Refresh" on the main XMBC button dropdown, but yes you can use {VKC: 168} (168 = A8 = the code for VK_BROWSER_REFRESH)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5196
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by phil » Tue Nov 14, 2017 9:02 am

gaia wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:29 am
phil wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:59 pm

You can use layers and layer modifier keys to do this - but I don't think layers will distinguish between left and right ALT keys at the moment.
You can increase the number of layers on the settings -> general settings tab (number of layers).
You can assign layer modifier keys which temporarily switch layers while the key is held down, of global hotkeys to switch layers when triggered. The layer can also revert back to another layer after a per-determind time if required.
hi
thank you so much for the answer
if i have understand , well just an exampl , i have setup 2 keys to play prev and next song
so i can use for alt or ctrl to use enable layer 2 and use these 2 buttons to play prev or next album,right?
but shoul i enable in the global key or modifier key
this make it really very very powerful
but if i use left ctrl to enable layer 2 , this does activate layer 2 for all the applications
have settings to add key to enable a second or 3 layer for each application would be really amazing
i guess it needs hard coding work
Modifier keys temporarily switch layers WHILE the key is held down.
Global modifiers switch layers and it stays switched (until the next global hotkey OR the timeout if the layer has one).
So which you use depends on what you want to do and the application you are using.

Yes layers are switched for all applications/profiles, but if you are not using layers for the other applications, then by default they all do the "same as layer 1" so that shouldn't be a problem.
gaia wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:29 am
Bear in mind that if you are holding a layer modfier key down, that may impact the message received by the application - so finding a suitable key can be tricky sometimes!
You can also use button chording to combine buttons to do different actions, for example, MB4 + scroll up/down to change volume.
In 2.17 (current beta) you can perform different actions depending on how long you hold the button (up to 4 actions at different times).
sorry , but i did not understood these 2 instances
Mouse button chording: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mouse_chording
Time dependant: if you hold the button for half a second do action 1. If you hold it for 1 second, do action 2, 3 seconds - action 3 and so on (the actions and times are configurable).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gaia
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by gaia » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:20 pm

phil wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 9:02 am
Yes layers are switched for all applications/profiles, but if you are not using layers for the other applications, then by default they all do the "same as layer 1" so that shouldn't be a problem.
&
Modifier keys temporarily switch layers WHILE the key is held down.
Phil , may i ask you a question ?
will be very hard to add code to use midifier keys to switch to another layer for each application profile?

i mean i create a frofile for firefox , and have a key(ctrl just an example) to switch to layer 2 ?
i mean no global ,but related to each application /windows Profiles
just curiosity

and is there a mouse gesture software that can work great with xmouse?

by the way x-mouse , everyday i love it more , i'm thinking to finish the italian translate,seeing it's not complete
i need time to understand very well xmous
have a great day

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5196
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by phil » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:16 pm

Due to the way layers are currently implemented, yes it will be difficult and time consuming to make the active layer profile specific....
I might be able to reset the layer when switching profiles so it goes back to layer one, but probably not much more than that certainly in the short term.

As for gestures, I dont really know any mouse gesture software - I have had gesture support on my todo list for a very long time but its not a simple job so it keeps getting pushed back. To be fair, now I have got the chording and time dependant actions working, there isn't so much on the list so maybe it is more likely to get added in the future, definitely not 2.17 though lol!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

gaia
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Re: keyboard shortcut + mouse button?

Post by gaia » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:35 pm

phil wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:16 pm
Due to the way layers are currently implemented, yes it will be difficult and time consuming to make the active layer profile specific....
I might be able to reset the layer when switching profiles so it goes back to layer one, but probably not much more than that certainly in the short term.

As for gestures, I dont really know any mouse gesture software - I have had gesture support on my todo list for a very long time but its not a simple job so it keeps getting pushed back. To be fair, now I have got the chording and time dependant actions working, there isn't so much on the list so maybe it is more likely to get added in the future, definitely not 2.17 though lol!
hi Phil
thank you so much for the answer

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: injtsvetkov and 16 guests