[Q] more Mouse buttons

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Post Reply
000001a
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:54 am

[Q] more Mouse buttons

Post by 000001a » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:21 am

hi,

i want to ask,
is it possible to scan a mouse to get the number of buttons of the mouse.

or if the scan do not work, to teach the program.
like: "add a new mouse button", "push a button to set mouse button 4".

is it possible to make something like this?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5196
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: [Q] more Mouse buttons

Post by phil » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:56 pm

No, you can not "scan" the mouse in Windows.
What would be the point of this? Are you aiming to use more than 5 buttons? It is explained in the FAQ why only 5 buttons are supported.
If you are just waning this to configure the first 5 buttons, then why? what wrong with the current dropdowns?

I have (recently) tried using RawInput to detect more than 5 buttons - but so far this has had little success. It may be because I need to buy a new mouse with more buttons because right now, the extra buttons on all of my mice dont register anything with raw input!

PS. What mouse do you have with more than 5 buttons (if that is the case)?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

000001a
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:54 am

Re: [Q] more Mouse buttons

Post by 000001a » Sat Aug 19, 2017 8:56 pm

it was just an idea.
i had a 7-button gaming mouse, SteelSeries Sensei.
but this was not a good mouse.

you say 5+-button/gaming mouses makes problems?

sorry i did never read the FAQ,
because i have no problems with your programm.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5196
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: [Q] more Mouse buttons

Post by phil » Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:21 am

Hi, the problem is that windows mouse messages dont natively su0pport more than 5 buttons. XMBC hooks windows mouse messages thats the only way to block the mouse input and change it from user level (i.e. without a driver which gets complicated, expensive and more often than not, device specific).

RawInput should be able to see any button press (so long as the mouse actually sends anything to Windows for those buttons, many mice have hard wired button to change DPI for example, that dont send anything to Windows, just changes inside the device itself) - but it cant block them, so would be useless for buttons 1-5 as any remapped function would execute in parallel to the normal button function.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests