Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
Post Reply
Hoggy
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:44 pm

Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by Hoggy » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:23 pm

Hi, I currently use what I think is a compiled AutoHotKey script. (AHK doesn't need to be installed or running.)

The script is called EasyWindowDrag_(KDE), and here is a cut and pasted description of what it does:
"
1) Hold down the ALT key and LEFT-click anywhere inside a window to drag it to a new location;
2) Hold down ALT and RIGHT-click-drag anywhere inside a window to easily resize it;
3) Press ALT twice, but before releasing it the second time, left-click to minimize the window under the mouse cursor, right-click to maximize it, or middle-click to close it.
"

The problem I have with it, is that for some programs - in my case, it's largely Lightroom (and some Photoshop) - the alt key is used for other things. Given that XMBC already has capability to have things work in only certain applications, it would be great if XMBC could gain such functionality.. Or maybe it already has, but I haven't noticed it??

#3 might not be possible, but that part is not that important to me anyways.. (Perhaps also because I forgot about it until now? :) )

Although numbers 1 and 2 would seem to be right up XBMC's ally. I really hope it could, because the ALT issue is a constant major pain in the butt when in the Lightroom application. EWD has a 'pause' feature, but I switch around a lot so it just doesn't work out.


Anyways.. MANY thanks if it could be added, or if it already is. And thanks a ton for this wonderful lightweight application!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5594
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by phil » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:45 pm

Its not possible right now but I will add it to the list of things to look into!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5594
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by phil » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:33 pm

OK I'm looking at adding this in 2.18 beta...

I'm thinking right now that all I need to add is a "Drag window" and "Size window" option in the main dropdowns.
Then you could put this on a layer for the left/right/any other button, and activate said layer when ALT or whatever is pressed.

Thus its relatively easy and you get your alt+drag/alt+size ability and its fairly flexible and can be per profile.

Does that make sense?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5594
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by phil » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:02 am

Ive added this to 2.18 Beta 4 today
For your usage, using ALT, I suggest the following....

On layer 2, set the button you want to use to "Drag to Move Window" or "Drag to Size Window"
Leave all other buttons as "Same as layer 1" or "No change"
Enable layer modifier keys and set ALT to enable layer 2

Now when ALT is held, layer 2 will be active and drag to move/size window should be in effect.

You can also use button chording or button held options to invoke this behavior which gives a little more flexibility (if you don't want to use ALT).

Let me know how you get on, and if it works as expected or not!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

schiel
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:35 am

window moving works like a charm

Post by schiel » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:56 pm

:D I just want to confirm that in 2.18 Beta 4 the new funktion "drag window" works like a charm. It is perfect together with switching the layer while pressing ALT, so with ALT + Left Mouse Button Click (or what ever) one can easy drag any window not only by clicking on the title bar but anywhere in the window. Thanks for that great feature!

:? By the way: First I had a little trouble, cause I choosed the "drag window" option for left mouse button in Layer 1, which was the current layer, and after applying the settings I was not able to use a normal Left Mouse Button Click everywhere - including to switch back the function to "No change". It took a little time for me to realize how to get out of that misery: Finally I resolved it by using the keyboard (TAB, TAB, TAB, ..., Page Down, Cursor up, Cursor up, ..., Space, ...)
:idea: Maybe it's a good idea to handle a Left Mouse Button Click as "No change" while the click is whithin XMBC?

Michael

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5594
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: window moving works like a charm

Post by phil » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:20 pm

schiel wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:56 pm
:idea: Maybe it's a good idea to handle a Left Mouse Button Click as "No change" while the click is whithin XMBC?
Without setting up a profile for XMBC that would not be easy (or in many cases, desirable)
The best bet is to make sure you enable "Disable all actions when scroll lock is on" to allow an easy out for this.
And if not, consider it a good way to learn not to do it again in the future :).

I have considered a warning when changing the left button "Are you really sure you want to change the left button in the default profile" or something, but for the amount if times its reported, I'm not sure its worth the effort!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by injtsvetkov » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:47 pm

I think that only a "warning" could be ineffective. It would be better if some "action" (besides the warning) could be automatically triggered when the user attempts to change the function of LMB, like for example automatically activating the "Disable all actions when scroll lock is on" option, but since the "Scroll lock" button is not present on all keyboards then it has to be something else :roll:

As a matter of fact I've been in the situation of remapping LMB and I've also seen several other users doing this intentionally, but I guess there always is a chance of doing it unintentionally (by accident) too and in this case one might not have even the slightest clue what has happened. So it's reasonable enough to have at least a warning pop-up, but as I said, the best would be to have a way (mentioned in the warning message) to revert the change or to disable XMBC via the keyboard. Maybe the easiest way would be to have some strange global shortcut to Enable/Disable XMBC e.g. "Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Esc" or something.
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 5594
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by phil » Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:42 pm

Well, you can already define a global hotkey to enable/disable XMBC... As well as the scroll lock option.
So yes, that could be turned on automatically (or from a warning dialogue optionally).

I guess it would reduce the number of people who email saying "help Ive broken my mouse" :)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Add window resizing/moving capabilities?

Post by injtsvetkov » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:14 pm

phil wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:42 pm
(or from a warning dialogue optionally)
Yea!

I just have to add that very often I get confused about my hotkey for Enabling/Disabling XMBC among the other hotkeys :haha: (I don't use them very often) and occasionally when I mess up the settings I end up navigating with the keyboard to the context menu instead of trying all the hotkeys that come to my mind.
So it would be great if the warning message could tell you which is the correct hotkey, that's why I suggested having a predefined/default hotkey for Enable/Disable which of course the user can change at his will, however that would involve the pop-up message to check which is the current hotkey so maybe defining an additional "user" hotkey would make more sence :roll: if it is possible at all to have 2 hotkeys for the same thing.
I'm not sure which would be most appropriate/painless/worthy etc. but I believe you are :)
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

Post Reply