XMBC 2.15 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
Locked
User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

For people who don't write scripts like me (JavaScript) the only option is regular list of options/functions Phill made for them. So that would be nice to have there triple click. But yes, as I use ONLY chording and simulated keystroke I'd like much more to write my codes on there.
Phil got my point, I thought of different actions triggered when you made single, double or triple click by particular button. That would be amazing. But if that has to make a harm, maybe better to think of that this BETA version was meant for too, so different duration of pressing buttons before they will be released.
However of complixity of triple and double clicks I hope when XMBC get already everything there could be done for this tool, then at least double clicks for all kind of buttons will be made, and triple for left one.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by phil »

Kukurykus wrote:But if that has to make a harm, maybe better to think of that this BETA version was meant for too, so different duration of pressing buttons before they will be released.
However of complixity of triple and double clicks I hope when XMBC get already everything there could be done for this tool, then at least double clicks for all kind of buttons will be made, and triple for left one.
I'd pretty much already ruled that one out now as too complex anyway! Probably save that for a future version, If I can figure it out at all!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

Ah, I see now why you marked it for red in first post of this topic. Well XMBC is still great!
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

Well at first thought it would be nice to have double/triple clicks available in XMBC e.g. to start some apps or do some other 'global' things which you typically do in different situations and with different apps focused (e.g. print screen or so). But taking in consideration that blocking the messages won't be an option just leads me to the idea that double/triple clicking must be combined with setting an area for it, like the taskbar for example, where those actions do nothing by default. It seems to me that this is the only logical choice, otherwise it would be too messy IMO.

As for the 'press and hold' feature, clearly it needs some more discussion so lets poke around. You press the button and hold it down, after say one second of no movement (now if the cursor moves a pixel or two probably XMBC should ignore it, or maybe have an option so user can set the number of pixels of movement to be ignored) XMBC sends 'button release' message followed by the custom command set by the user, then block the 'button released' message when the user releases the button. Regarding the 'block/delay original button action', it would be similar to the one in 'chording': if the delay is one second, initially the 'pressed' message will be blocked and if the button is released before that one second has elapsed, then XMBC will send normal button click. Probably there are some risks about all that timing but since I am not aware - I can't comment at this time. Maybe if you give us some basic explanation we could do some brainstorming and see if some worthy idea comes up :)

I also want to mention the 'block/delay original button action' option in chording. Probably you have already considered adding a delay setting, so the original action could be passed through after a set time delay, but I presume you have some concerns about it :roll:. E.g. currently I have some chordings in excel with RMB as initial button and the 'block/delay original button action' is enabled, so when I need to use RMB click and drag, I open Settings to disable the blocking and later re-enable it again, while if I had the option to set a delay, I would make it pass the 'RMB pressed' message after one second of no chord and everything would be just perfect :)
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
Stephaen
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:45 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by Stephaen »

Hi Phil,

As Kukurikus, I really need a new feature in XMBC, namely a new action when there is a “double” click (and eventually a “triple” click), at least for the left mouse button.
My STR is following:
- I use a TV viewer program that switch to full screen when double clicking in it
- I use XMBC to pause/play viewing when simple clicking (sending a keystroke)
Result: when I double click, the program switch to full screen but also pause and play
Expected result: XMBC is able to detect “double” click and let me set to “not intercept” in this case

This could be implemented for any mouse button in the “how to send the simulated key strokes” section.

Have fun digging on this! (Windows does recognize double and triple clicks)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by phil »

As I said earlier, Windows mouse hooks, that XMBC uses, does not have any idea of double and triple clicks. Sure windows supports double click (although I believe its up to each individual application to detect anything more (like triple click).

But for XMBC to detect a double or triple click, it would have to postpone any action until it knows if another click is coming or not - this will lead to many problems, not least having to block mouse buttons and then simulate/inject them - which as we know, does not work in all scenarios (many games block injected input).

Its easy from within an individual application to support things like double and triple click but system wide, especially in mouse hooks, its a lot more tricky.

As such. its not something I'm even gong to consider at this time. I know what you mean with the switch full-screen/play/pause thing - I have similar issues with Media Player Classic and VLC but there really isn't a simple way around this. For sure I will add it to the to be considered list but its not going to be something quick to implement (if it is even possible).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

I also want to mention the 'block/delay original button action' option in chording. Probably you have already considered adding a delay setting, so the original action could be passed through after a set time delay, but I presume you have some concerns about it :roll:. E.g. currently I have some chordings in excel with RMB as initial button and the 'block/delay original button action' is enabled, so when I need to use RMB click and drag, I open Settings to disable the blocking and later re-enable it again, while if I had the option to set a delay, I would make it pass the 'RMB pressed' message after one second of no chord and everything would be just perfect :)
injtsvetkov we're having same ideas. As you probably read in recent posts that was also my idea to keep selection on last selected app/win (in left) panel before quitting. So if we use some profile or test some butons for, it's very useful to have it available once after opening XMBC again.

Now I see you're talking about other idea you may check on 6th page of this theard - it's in middle of all posts there with big screenshot: https://forums.highrez.co.uk/viewtopic. ... 3&start=75

I'm haveing the same issue as you, but not with Excel, but Photoshop. I'm doing there exaclty same, so use shift to move something, make transformation, etc. As you will read in that post of me I noticed it's enormous waste of button as you can't use chordings to nothing else when the main chord is used for that shift with 'during' method.

I would be happy Phil implemented delay time at least for this one thing you can see better on the screenshot I attached to that post.

Regarding triple clicks, if ever maybe let's try with it only for left mouse button. And it's not risk, but option (like chording), anyone who doesn't want it won't use it. I'm first to help testing it by all means!
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

Kukurykus wrote: injtsvetkov we're having same ideas. As you probably read in recent posts that was also my idea to keep selection on last selected app/win (in left) panel before quitting. So if we use some profile or test some butons for, it's very useful to have it available once after opening XMBC again.

Now I see you're talking about other idea you may check on 6th page of this theard - it's in middle of all posts there with big screenshot: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2433&start=75
Yes my friend :), I am not surprised that we're having same ideas, it has happened before and it most certainly will happen in the future. I presume you know the sentence 'Great minds think alike' :cool:
Of course I remember your post, I read all posts in the beta topic :)

Actually the 'Delay' feature was discussed in the beginning when Phil implemented 'button chording' (that's why the option is called 'Block/Delay' and not just 'Block') but he decided not to rush it and wanted to smooth things out first and then look into it. So when the time comes, he's gonna nail it down :wink:
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by Kukurykus »

That's great. I can't wait for this day. For now I do some workarounds because of no implemented delay, just a block. For example I switch layers where the same button ("shift" with during method on 1st) is full of other options. But that's boring, each time I have first to switch layer as I do it so often that can't to be unnoticable in my workflow. Surely XMBC chordings miss now only this one option to be completed 8)
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by phil »

injtsvetkov wrote: Actually the 'Delay' feature was discussed in the beginning when Phil implemented 'button chording' (that's why the option is called 'Block/Delay' and not just 'Block') but he decided not to rush it and wanted to smooth things out first and then look into it. So when the time comes, he's gonna nail it down :wink:
I love your enthusiasm, but that is simply not true. The Block/Delay is called that because the option is to to delay the message until the chord is released - nothing to do with a timer. Although that does not mean that's not what will happen in the long run, I just wanted to say that its not what I meant in the first place :).

Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

:lol: well than it seems I've gotten it wrong at that point, it just seemed to me that this is the most logical choice and as we see - it's gonna happen eventually and the chording will be just perfect :)
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by phil »

Teaser:
Chording.png
Was less effort than I anticipated and seems to work quite well, especially for right button chording on the desktop!

Will be available in the next beta of course.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by phil »

Here is 2.15 Beta 12.

If you have check for beta versions enabled, you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.15 Beta 11:
  • #455 - Add ability to abort button chording block after a configurable delay.
  • #452 - Fixed uninitialised random hotkeys with a new settings file.
  • #445 - Fixed tab order in global hotkeys (other) tab.
There are updated translations in the template file for 2.15 Beta 12.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).
NOTE: I'm Back to work next week so the updates will slow down a bit again!

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov »

phil wrote:Was less effort than I anticipated and seems to work quite well, especially for right button chording on the desktop!
Glad to hear you didn't go through too much trouble :)
Seems to me that the 'OK' and 'Cancel' buttons could be placed a bit higher, if their position (on the screenshot) is not intentional of course.
And one other thing, which I've mentioned before I think, since the chording window appears in front of the main window and hides the dropdowns, the only way to confirm you are on the right button is to look at the left side and search for the 'Default (No Chord)' writing which is not distinctive enough IMO, so I would suggest the title bar to contain the button name, e.g. 'Button chording - Right Button'.
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.15 Beta

Post by phil »

And one other thing, which I've mentioned before I think, since the chording window appears in front of the main window and hides the dropdowns, the only way to confirm you are on the right button is to look at the left side and search for the 'Default (No Chord)' writing which is not distinctive enough IMO, so I would suggest the title bar to contain the button name, e.g. 'Button chording - Right Button'.
OK, but in the meantime, the button your configuring is the one that says Default (No chord) by it!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, AMD Ryzen 5900x, MSI x570 Tomahawk, 32GB DDR4,
nVidia RTX 2070s, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Locked