XMBC 2.14 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:58 pm

Sorry, I'm not a forum developer - just standard phpbb... don't know if there are any mods too do that!
EDIT you can revers the thread order, so the newest post is at the top - in your forum profile settings!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:05 pm

xmbcjoef wrote: In Windows 10 make the notification icon hollow instead of all white.
Then have it become all white to show a pending message
Do you mean the system tray icon? thats not for notifications - there are no such messages, unless you mean the popup proper notifications when say, switching layers, OK, maybe it would work for updates....
Generally though, thats not something you would want to take an action to visit the icon to see - you either want the windows notifications or you don't! Also, it would conflict with the layer numbers that are overlaid on the icon.

The icons are of course already customizable so that wouldn't work too well either!
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta (Suggestion)

Post by phil » Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:03 pm

JTB3 wrote:Hey Phil,
Recently I started using the 'Check for new (Beta) version' option in settings. As you recently pushed the new Beta 6, today I got the tray notification - and when I clicked on it, the pop-up dialog window asked me if I wished to download the new beta version (yes or no).
How about this?
xmbcupdate.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:51 pm

Here is 2.14 Beta 7

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 6:
  • #411 - Added change log when asking if you want to upgrade to a new version of XMBC NOTE: This wont be visible until updating to the NEXT version!
  • #406 - Increased space for (ms) and (min) translations on advanced settings tab.
  • #404 - Improved settings layout to fit on smaller screens.
There is a new language template included with some new translations for this beta.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:55 pm

Updating XMBC from v6 to v7 when I was prompted started process but when I checked in advanced setting is there more space for 'ms', there wasn't so I checked what version I have and that was still 6. I chose then manual update but still that was verstion 6, even after reopening XMBC what I know is not necessary. Then I went back here to your forum and downloaded it from a link. It installed version 7, but "ms" had still not enough space in Advanced Setting.

Btw on the second SS you'll see there is too much space before Brigthness...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:01 am

lol, the change was for the text label "(ms)" (which in other languages, can be many more characters) not the actual value (I didn't realize that didn't fit)!
I'll fix that next time!
As for the brightness bit - ok, probably 1 too many tabs!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

piyo
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:58 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by piyo » Mon Aug 29, 2016 5:04 am

Hi, these are small UI glitches. Some parts suddenly changed to black.
I cannot find the way to reproduce this problem, but it happened several times.

Thanks,
Slide_2tq.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:41 am

That's odd, I didn't make any changes to the main window, just the settings tabs. Did this only start happening in 2.14 beta 7? or did it happen in beta 6?

What's your OS, screen resolution & DPI?

EDIT: OK Clearly I did change that bit because the overflow was not like that in beta 6 :(...
And I can make it go black, if I open the settings, look at all the tabs, then close the settings and drag the main window off the screen and back again!
Now I will investigate!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:43 pm

Here is 2.14 Beta 8

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 7:
  • #412 - Updated the min/max range of the hook timeout option in Advanced Settings..
  • #406 - Fixed the width of some number spin boxes on the advanced tab that were not wide enough.
  • #404 - Fixed issues causing blacked out/corrupt screen drawing.
There are no new translations for this beta.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta (Issue with wheel-zooming in Google Maps on Chrome)

Post by JTB3 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 3:40 am

Hey Phil,
Just noticed an issue with jittery intermittent zooming while using the scroll wheel on Google Maps + Chrome and XMBC enabled (note, zooming is the default wheel behavior when hovering over a graphical map on Google Maps). I'm not sure when this issue was introduced, but the last few betas all behave the same way.

The issue seems isolated to the Chrome browser only, as I observed no similar issue when I tested on Firefox, Edge, or IE11. I'm also not sure if this is related to the previous Chrome scrolling issue w-desktop App Windows.

My System Setup: Windows 10 64-bit Build 10586 + Latest Chome Browser (v52.0.2743.116 m (64-bit)

Steps to Reproduce Issue:
1) Using chrome browser, pull up any google maps page or just goto: https://www.google.com/maps
2) Hover anywhere over the map area and move the scroll wheel to zoom in or out
3) The zoom is intermittently responsive, jittery, and not smooth
4) Disable XMBC from system tray icon and retry zooming with scroll wheel.
5) Zooming returns to normal responsiveness.
6) Re-enable XMBC, jittery zooming returns.

In any event, I hope this is an easy fix - and wishing you a great week!
-JT :)
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta (Suggestion)

Post by JTB3 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:17 pm

phil wrote:
JTB3 wrote:Hey Phil,
Recently I started using the 'Check for new (Beta) version' option in settings. As you recently pushed the new Beta 6, today I got the tray notification - and when I clicked on it, the pop-up dialog window asked me if I wished to download the new beta version (yes or no).
How about this?
Image
Wow Phil,
This is awesome! :D - exactly what I was envisioning! Sorry, I didn't see this post earlier (I'm not getting consistent notifications for some reason). This makes a HUGE usability difference. Have you included this feature in Beta 8?

XMBC keeps getting better and better! -JT

EDIT: P.S. I'd like to also suggest that on the notification fly out/balloon that that last line ends with "Click for more details."
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:13 pm

What about the fly-out? Change the text? Right now it will show that screen.
It went into beta 7 but beta 8 was so close behind, you probably went straight to 8.

Notifications use DNS look-ups to check the version against a TXT record - that means they can take a while to replicate around the web, but reduces load on my server because of the same caches. That is perhaps why you don't see all notifications if they are a bit quick!

Now I just have to remember to publish the changelog to the webserver as well as the downloads!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta (Issue with wheel-zooming in Google Maps on Chrome)

Post by phil » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:18 pm

JTB3 wrote:Hey Phil,
Just noticed an issue with jittery intermittent zooming while using the scroll wheel on Google Maps + Chrome and XMBC enabled (note, zooming is the default wheel behavior when hovering over a graphical map on Google Maps). I'm not sure when this issue was introduced, but the last few betas all behave the same way.
Odd, couldn't reproduce on Windows 8.1 at work - it behaved smoothly when both enabled & disabled.
Seems to work fine on my Windows 10 (anniversary update) laptop too. Will try on my 10 (also AU) desktop shortly!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta (Issue with wheel-zooming in Google Maps on Chrome)

Post by JTB3 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 1:56 am

phil wrote:
JTB3 wrote:Hey Phil,
Just noticed an issue with jittery intermittent zooming while using the scroll wheel on Google Maps + Chrome and XMBC enabled (note, zooming is the default wheel behavior when hovering over a graphical map on Google Maps). I'm not sure when this issue was introduced, but the last few betas all behave the same way.
Odd, couldn't reproduce on Windows 8.1 at work - it behaved smoothly when both enabled & disabled.
Seems to work fine on my Windows 10 (anniversary update) laptop too. Will try on my 10 (also AU) desktop shortly!
[Solved] Thanks for your feedback Phil, it spurred me on to further check/test. As it turns out, the culprit was in MY custom XMBC profile for Chrome.exe - where I had selected 'Method 1' under the 'Advanced Window Scrolling' section (back when I had originally experienced the Chrome App Window issue). Selecting the default value fixed this completely.

Sorry for the false alarm! :angel: -JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 2:12 am

phil wrote:What about the fly-out? Change the text? Right now it will show that screen.
It went into beta 7 but beta 8 was so close behind, you probably went straight to 8.

Notifications use DNS look-ups to check the version against a TXT record - that means they can take a while to replicate around the web, but reduces load on my server because of the same caches. That is perhaps why you don't see all notifications if they are a bit quick!

Now I just have to remember to publish the changelog to the webserver as well as the downloads!
Yes, I was suggesting a minor tweak to the flyout text (If it doesn't have it already!) You're right, I updated from Beta 6 to Beta 8, so I missed the goodness! (I'll have to wait for your next push). Thanks for the info on the DNS/internals checking. Cheers, -JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

Locked