Page 11 of 13

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 am
by phil
Hi Phil,
Here are a few resource links that I found for implementing Action Center notifications. It looks like there is C++ C# and JS language support: It's a brave new world out there...
-JT
Yeh, been there - all but the first one are .NET/Managed C++ related so they are all out - I'm not quadrupling the memory usage of XMBC jut for some notification! :)

The first one - I have tried and didn't get very far - its more about interactivity and didn't seem to give any options on how to persist a notification (when I looked last night).

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:10 pm
by phil
Looks like the is a) a problem with the beta 15 update and b) still a problem with the damn layer tab not displaying properly (on my machine at work). ARGHHHH!

I need a break! :)

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:22 pm
by injtsvetkov
a) What update problem? I saw the notification, clicked it and updated to beta 15!

b) Look it on the bright side - at least now you have it on your own machine :)

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:56 pm
by JTB3
phil wrote:Yeh, been there - all but the first one are .NET/Managed C++ related so they are all out - I'm not quadrupling the memory usage of XMBC jut for some notification! :)

The first one - I have tried and didn't get very far - its more about interactivity and didn't seem to give any options on how to persist a notification (when I looked last night).
Bummer. Probably a dead end and definately not worth the memory increase.
Thanks for considering, Phil! -JT

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:38 pm
by phil
injtsvetkov wrote:a) What update problem? I saw the notification, clicked it and updated to beta 15!

b) Look it on the bright side - at least now you have it on your own machine :)
a) I got an update prompt, updated and it went back to beta 13 ... Odd - perhaps a localised issue!
b) I had it once, on my machine at work - still cant figure our why.

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:40 pm
by phil
JTB3 wrote:
phil wrote:Yeh, been there - all but the first one are .NET/Managed C++ related so they are all out - I'm not quadrupling the memory usage of XMBC jut for some notification! :)

The first one - I have tried and didn't get very far - its more about interactivity and didn't seem to give any options on how to persist a notification (when I looked last night).
Bummer. Probably a dead end and definately not worth the memory increase.
Thanks for considering, Phil! -JT
Yeh, and on closer inspection even the first method uses managed C++ (thus relies on .NET) I think. There must be a way to do it though so I will keep looking (in slow time).

Right now I need to figure out this tab drawing problem - its getting rather frustrating now - and thats really all that is holding up the release of 2.14!

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:05 am
by JTB3
phil wrote:Yeh, and on closer inspection even the first method uses managed C++ (thus relies on .NET) I think. There must be a way to do it though so I will keep looking (in slow time).

Right now I need to figure out this tab drawing problem - it's getting rather frustrating now - and that's really all that is holding up the release of 2.14!
Hopefully, there is a way... Thx for holding the possibility :) The tab bug will hopefully soon be history!
-JT

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:52 pm
by injtsvetkov
It just happened to me twice :( - beta 15 on win 8.1.

First time I opened the setup window from the context menu of the tray icon and the only missing things were the 'grey' gear buttons and the 'reset layer' button which is in the same column with the gear buttons.

Second time I opened the setup window from the context menu of the tray icon again and here is what it looked like:
Bug - 2.14 beta 15.jpg
Both times I was with 5 layers! I tried to see if it would happen with 6 or more layers but it didn't till now, gonna continue trying.
I wonder if someone had it happen with more than 5 layers or it only happens when 5 or less layers are activated :roll:

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:31 pm
by phil
Yep, that's it - it seems to be completely random and with no explanation. I wouldn't mind if I could even make a change that made it happen more often - then I might be able to understand why it happens - but whatever I do, it seems to make no difference at all :(.

I wont be beaten - I will find it eventually (or completely re-write the tabs (eek).

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:48 pm
by injtsvetkov
Well the only thing I noticed is that the both times it happened the laptop was at a decent load with some other apps. It doesn't happen when the laptop is idle. I have the strange feeling that something interrupts XMBC at the moment it is drawing up the tab contents. Could it be some messed up timing/threading/priorities or something similar (I'm just shooting in the dark with my eyes closed so probably I wrote some nonsense :haha:). Maybe you could try to increase the load on your machine and see if it will happen more often.
Now you have most probably done that already but anyway I'm gonna ask: Have you tried to go back to the point the problem started to happen (I think it was around beta 10 or 11) and try to recall the changes that have been made, so you could pinpoint some suspects and try to manipulate them somehow and see if there would be any change?

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:35 am
by phil
The problem happened when I introduced the image buttons onto the tab.
I think that was simply causing more drawing work - which may have triggered it.

I haven't run under load yet but I have significantly restructured the layer tab code to reduce CPU and memory usage (quit a lot) - it was copying the list of actions into every combobox previously, even though its pretty much the same list for all of them (not quite but near enough to do much better).

I hope that fixes it - we shall see - beta 16 on its way soon.

Thanks,
Phil

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:13 am
by phil
OK here is 2.14 Beta 16

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 15:
  • #422 - Fixed broken actions Snap Window Left/Right/Up/Down on Windows 10.
  • #421 - Fixed broken scrolling on elevated windows when running as normal user.
  • #404 - Sixth Attempt to fix missing button on layer tabs - help!... Including memory performance tweaks to layer tabs
There were no translation changes in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:00 am
by BriHecato
Beta16 big problem with profiles. Downloaded and installed automatically (via update function)

Lot of built-in actions like undo redo copy paste missing or messed up.

Simulated Keys set for one button auto overwrite all other simulated Keys in profile (no overwriting between profiles). When I want to set simulated keys to new button theres already string.

Button chording setting overwrite between buttons and profiles. When I want to set chording to new button all settings are there.

Also once get terrible mouse movement hung up and Windows app-error message, need to kill process from keyboard.

Returned to beta15.

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:02 pm
by phil
Well I guess that's what beta are all about - and I shouldn't rush the release at 3:30 am :(
But I don't seem to be suffering quite the same problems - certainly copy and paste are OK.
Maybe simkeys problem is there - difficult to tell on my machine at work - I'll see what I can find when I get home.

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:54 pm
by phil
OK here is 2.14 Beta 17

NOTE: If your configuration got corrupt by 2.14 Beta 16, there should be a backup created when upgrading to beta 16 that you can revert to. It will be in your XMBC settings folder.

You can use the check for update or download the full beta installation HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 16:
  • #404 - Rolled back performance changes made to the dropdown boxes... It may have been quicker but it broke just about everything!.
There were no translation changes in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil