XMBC 2.14 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 am

Hi Phil,
Here are a few resource links that I found for implementing Action Center notifications. It looks like there is C++ C# and JS language support: It's a brave new world out there...
-JT
Yeh, been there - all but the first one are .NET/Managed C++ related so they are all out - I'm not quadrupling the memory usage of XMBC jut for some notification! :)

The first one - I have tried and didn't get very far - its more about interactivity and didn't seem to give any options on how to persist a notification (when I looked last night).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:10 pm

Looks like the is a) a problem with the beta 15 update and b) still a problem with the damn layer tab not displaying properly (on my machine at work). ARGHHHH!

I need a break! :)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:22 pm

a) What update problem? I saw the notification, clicked it and updated to beta 15!

b) Look it on the bright side - at least now you have it on your own machine :)
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:56 pm

phil wrote:Yeh, been there - all but the first one are .NET/Managed C++ related so they are all out - I'm not quadrupling the memory usage of XMBC jut for some notification! :)

The first one - I have tried and didn't get very far - its more about interactivity and didn't seem to give any options on how to persist a notification (when I looked last night).
Bummer. Probably a dead end and definately not worth the memory increase.
Thanks for considering, Phil! -JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:38 pm

injtsvetkov wrote:a) What update problem? I saw the notification, clicked it and updated to beta 15!

b) Look it on the bright side - at least now you have it on your own machine :)
a) I got an update prompt, updated and it went back to beta 13 ... Odd - perhaps a localised issue!
b) I had it once, on my machine at work - still cant figure our why.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:40 pm

JTB3 wrote:
phil wrote:Yeh, been there - all but the first one are .NET/Managed C++ related so they are all out - I'm not quadrupling the memory usage of XMBC jut for some notification! :)

The first one - I have tried and didn't get very far - its more about interactivity and didn't seem to give any options on how to persist a notification (when I looked last night).
Bummer. Probably a dead end and definately not worth the memory increase.
Thanks for considering, Phil! -JT
Yeh, and on closer inspection even the first method uses managed C++ (thus relies on .NET) I think. There must be a way to do it though so I will keep looking (in slow time).

Right now I need to figure out this tab drawing problem - its getting rather frustrating now - and thats really all that is holding up the release of 2.14!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:05 am

phil wrote:Yeh, and on closer inspection even the first method uses managed C++ (thus relies on .NET) I think. There must be a way to do it though so I will keep looking (in slow time).

Right now I need to figure out this tab drawing problem - it's getting rather frustrating now - and that's really all that is holding up the release of 2.14!
Hopefully, there is a way... Thx for holding the possibility :) The tab bug will hopefully soon be history!
-JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov » Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:52 pm

It just happened to me twice :( - beta 15 on win 8.1.

First time I opened the setup window from the context menu of the tray icon and the only missing things were the 'grey' gear buttons and the 'reset layer' button which is in the same column with the gear buttons.

Second time I opened the setup window from the context menu of the tray icon again and here is what it looked like:
Bug - 2.14 beta 15.jpg
Both times I was with 5 layers! I tried to see if it would happen with 6 or more layers but it didn't till now, gonna continue trying.
I wonder if someone had it happen with more than 5 layers or it only happens when 5 or less layers are activated :roll:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:31 pm

Yep, that's it - it seems to be completely random and with no explanation. I wouldn't mind if I could even make a change that made it happen more often - then I might be able to understand why it happens - but whatever I do, it seems to make no difference at all :(.

I wont be beaten - I will find it eventually (or completely re-write the tabs (eek).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov » Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:48 pm

Well the only thing I noticed is that the both times it happened the laptop was at a decent load with some other apps. It doesn't happen when the laptop is idle. I have the strange feeling that something interrupts XMBC at the moment it is drawing up the tab contents. Could it be some messed up timing/threading/priorities or something similar (I'm just shooting in the dark with my eyes closed so probably I wrote some nonsense :haha:). Maybe you could try to increase the load on your machine and see if it will happen more often.
Now you have most probably done that already but anyway I'm gonna ask: Have you tried to go back to the point the problem started to happen (I think it was around beta 10 or 11) and try to recall the changes that have been made, so you could pinpoint some suspects and try to manipulate them somehow and see if there would be any change?
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:35 am

The problem happened when I introduced the image buttons onto the tab.
I think that was simply causing more drawing work - which may have triggered it.

I haven't run under load yet but I have significantly restructured the layer tab code to reduce CPU and memory usage (quit a lot) - it was copying the list of actions into every combobox previously, even though its pretty much the same list for all of them (not quite but near enough to do much better).

I hope that fixes it - we shall see - beta 16 on its way soon.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:13 am

OK here is 2.14 Beta 16

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 15:
  • #422 - Fixed broken actions Snap Window Left/Right/Up/Down on Windows 10.
  • #421 - Fixed broken scrolling on elevated windows when running as normal user.
  • #404 - Sixth Attempt to fix missing button on layer tabs - help!... Including memory performance tweaks to layer tabs
There were no translation changes in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
BriHecato
Dedicated
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:09 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by BriHecato » Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:00 am

Beta16 big problem with profiles. Downloaded and installed automatically (via update function)

Lot of built-in actions like undo redo copy paste missing or messed up.

Simulated Keys set for one button auto overwrite all other simulated Keys in profile (no overwriting between profiles). When I want to set simulated keys to new button theres already string.

Button chording setting overwrite between buttons and profiles. When I want to set chording to new button all settings are there.

Also once get terrible mouse movement hung up and Windows app-error message, need to kill process from keyboard.

Returned to beta15.
Let the PC do the hard work = AHK + C# + HTML/CSS/JS + XMBC + Clavier+ + AutoLisp + VBA/OOB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:02 pm

Well I guess that's what beta are all about - and I shouldn't rush the release at 3:30 am :(
But I don't seem to be suffering quite the same problems - certainly copy and paste are OK.
Maybe simkeys problem is there - difficult to tell on my machine at work - I'll see what I can find when I get home.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:54 pm

OK here is 2.14 Beta 17

NOTE: If your configuration got corrupt by 2.14 Beta 16, there should be a backup created when upgrading to beta 16 that you can revert to. It will be in your XMBC settings folder.

You can use the check for update or download the full beta installation HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 16:
  • #404 - Rolled back performance changes made to the dropdown boxes... It may have been quicker but it broke just about everything!.
There were no translation changes in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Locked