XMBC 2.14 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
User avatar
injtsvetkov
Fanatic
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:51 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by injtsvetkov » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:26 pm

Well that's great news :)

You might wanna let it sleep overnight though, for the codes to settle down and when you release it tomorrow you'll see that everything will be just perfect :P
HAMA Mirano
Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i5-3230M @ 2.60GHz, 4GB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Sep 15, 2016 12:23 am

Yeh, as I didn't get home till almost midnight (and only got 4 hours sleep last night because of XMBC I'm not doing anything tonight :)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:35 am

OK here is 2.14 Beta 14

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 13:
  • #419 - Updated donate URL for the PayPal button on the About screen.
  • #418 - Sometimes the profile is not highlighted in the Setup screen.
  • #417 - Fixed tab order for action config (gear) buttons.
  • #404 - Adjusted minimum width & behaviour of layer tabs.
  • #404 - Fourth Attempt to fix missing button on layer tabs.
  • #403 - Debugging state text is reversed in notifications.
There were no translation changes in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:36 am

#404 - I had problem only in version 11 on my home compuer (differently than in my work), but now with newest version though it opened correctly something new happened after I closed and opened XMBC again. All info of right pannel (graphics too) wasn't visible untill I moved mouse cursor over them. Even then like before I remember it didn't restore grey gears, black only. I reopened few times XMBC and didn't have it problem any more.

Update:

Layer tabs are now OKEY, I think it's best solution you could work out, and nice too see my sugestion helped to use Layer name up to 5 layers set. Only one thing I'd change now is to change Layer position due to clicked tab, so like in previous version, not that it stay only in Layer 1 tab. I'm not sure only how that could look when there was choosen for ex. layer 5 when there are more than 5 layer tabs set and you changed tab to Scrolling and Navigation. Layer name should go to its initial position, so Layer 1 tab. That of course isn't so needed after all, as you must be tired of it enough to even think you ever had to do changes in User Interference layer tabs :P
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
BriHecato
Dedicated
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:09 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by BriHecato » Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:22 am

Beta14.

I was experimenting with layers. And got bug-i-think.

I got acad.exe process and define profile for it, with 4th button as simulated keys:

Code: Select all

{layer:2}
It's switching to second layer (icon i tray also change).

On layer 2 i set some command to close opened file without saving and return to first layer

Code: Select all

{CTRL}{F4}{ALT}n{RETURN}{layer:1}
and it works. We can do the Jetsons!

But I also set

Code: Select all

Switch to Layer1 after 3 seconds

I understand it's time counter that return to first layer no matter if I use any key/command on second layer or I just wait and do nothing.
And this don't work, when i return to setup this profile > layer, I found "disable" and "1" second - just like it didn't save to profile this command.
I set it again - then minimize setup - still don't work - looking at profile/layer - "disable".
Icon in tray is still on second layer.
Let the PC do the hard work = AHK + C# + HTML/CSS/JS + XMBC + Clavier+ + AutoLisp + VBA/OOB

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:43 pm

BriHecato wrote: was experimenting with layers. And got bug-i-think.
Yes - it sounds like it failed to save the layer revert - it used to work but maybe Ive broken something with all these GUI changes! I'll have a look!

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:44 pm

Kukurykus wrote:#404 - I had problem only in version 11 on my home compuer (differently than in my work), but now with newest version though it opened correctly something new happened after I closed and opened XMBC again. All info of right pannel (graphics too) wasn't visible untill I moved mouse cursor over them. Even then like before I remember it didn't restore grey gears, black only. I reopened few times XMBC and didn't have it problem any more.
Oh no - that's not good - is it reproducible (does it happen every time) or still random?!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:18 pm

I thought of reason, but it's random. It happened later only once. Today in my work on few computers new version displayed empty panel too, not each time, mostly that was OKEY.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:46 pm

Is/was the panel empty when opening the xmbc window (i.e. layer 1) or when selecting another layer?
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
Kukurykus
Fanatic
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by Kukurykus » Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:06 pm

When opening XMBC window. After switch panel was back, even earlier as I had move mouse to click other layer and all under cursor showed again (beside gray gears). After reopening XMBC worked correctly, but later randomally problem could be back.
HAMA Roma, Rapoo 3920P
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-4670K @ 3.40GHz, 8GB,
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, Intel SSD 179 GB HDD

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta (Suggestion) Make update notification fly-outs persistent.

Post by JTB3 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:33 am

Hi Phil,
Great work on the recent 2.14 Betas! Today, when I saw the notification fly-out for Beta-14, I realized that I had missed downloading Beta-13. I believe the reason is that the update notification flyout is currently non-persistent - and is easily missed if one is not directly looking at the screen when it is launched. Would it be possible (on Windows 10) to have the notification persist in the Action Center list if is not immediately clicked (timed-out) or dismissed with the 'X'?

Windows 7/8 balloon notifications at least persisted until the mouse was moved. But Microsoft annoyingly did not keep this characteristic in Windows 10, and now they default to a short 5-second timeout. I'm assuming that W10 notifications now need to be programmatically configured to persist in the Action Center when desired - Is that true?

What do you think? Is this a relatively simple programmatic addition for XMBC :?:

Thanks for considering, and cheers, :D
-JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:48 am

I'm not sure about the windows 10 notification center - I think you have to add all sorts of stuff that is not quite so easy in old fashioned C++ lol.

If I get a chance I'll have another look, but these things are really going to be minor issues - beta may be comming think and fast right now but thats relatively unusual!
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:57 am

phil wrote:I'm not sure about the windows 10 notification center - I think you have to add all sorts of stuff that is not quite so easy in old fashioned C++ lol. If I get a chance I'll have another look, but these things are really going to be minor issues - beta may be comming think and fast right now but thats relatively unusual!
Thanks for the quick response and for looking into this Phil! This is a bridge that will need to be eventually crossed by most programmers due to Microsoft's inconsistency. Many notifications from useful apps and utilities are now lost and unnoticed by the end-user due to this timeout. This has been frustratingly expressed by many on numerous forums.

Thx again! -JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6290
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by phil » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:24 am

OK here is 2.14 Beta 15

If you have check for beta versions enabled, there was a problem in earlier 2.14 betas which means you will have to update manually if you are on 2.14 beta 2 or 3. Otherwise you should get notified of a new version and prompted to update in the next day or so. This is the most efficient method (bandwidth wise) as the updates are only a fraction of the size of the full install. Otherwise, you can get the full installation beta HERE. Note that this link will always get you the latest beta version!

Changes since v2.14 Beta 14:
  • #420 - Fixed bug causing layer auto switch to fail on non-default profiles.
  • #411 - Fixed crash on XP when opening the new change log update window.
  • #404 - Fifth Attempt to fix missing button on layer tabs.
There were no translation changes in this beta - no need for changes.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
JTB3
Dedicated
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:52 am

Re: XMBC 2.14 Beta

Post by JTB3 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:36 am

phil wrote:I'm not sure about the windows 10 notification center - I think you have to add all sorts of stuff that is not quite so easy in old fashioned C++ lol. If I get a chance I'll have another look, but these things are really going to be minor issues - beta may be comming think and fast right now but thats relatively unusual!
Hi Phil,
Here are a few resource links that I found for implementing Action Center notifications. It looks like there is C++ C# and JS language support: It's a brave new world out there...
-JT
System: Win10 Pro-x64 v1702+v1607, Intel i7-7700K (Z270) + i7-4771 (Z87)
Logitech M570 Wireless (5-Button) Trackball + M705 (5-Button) Marathon Mouse
[Bay Area, California]

Locked