XMBC 2.10 Beta

x64 Replacement/Alternative to Microsoft's IntelliMouse application.
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules before posting for the first time.
The more information you can provide, the quicker and more accurately someone can help.
NOTE: To reduce spam, new users can not post links or images until they have at least 4 posts.
WayHow47
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:27 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by WayHow47 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:26 pm

Hello Phil,

When I rebooted my machine this morning, the notice came up that there was a new beta and I clicked to install. It worked! I now have beta 6. I am in GMT -5 (or Eastern Standard Time).

Wayne

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:28 pm

OK for now I will assume there was an issue with the server. Maybe I need to add more information to the error message, and perhaps a retry button :)

Thanks for the update.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Tigr
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:22 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by Tigr » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:25 pm

The update worked smoothly for me. I got the notification and clicked on it. Beta 4 was upgraded to beta 6 in a short while. An option to retry would be useful though in case the update fails in the background. Keep the good work :cheers:

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:52 pm

Retry is done, I just need to test it - it should be in beta 7 :)
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

zoagli
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:01 am

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by zoagli » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:05 am

Hi Phil,

XMBC 2.10 Beta 2 asked me to upgrade to Beta 6 this morning. This is so cool!

However, while it did download and install a new beta automatically, it did so with Beta 5, not 6. I had to go the previous way via the Forums to get Beta 6 (and not 7, by the way).

Just thought you'd like to know.

Cheers
Lorenzo

EDIT: I now understand more. Both the Beta 2 and Beta 5 I had were x64. Beta 6 is x32. Help, how do I get the x64 Beta 5 back?

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:29 am

Hi Lorenzo,

All betas are available in both x86 and x64. The updated downloaded automatically is determined by the version currently running (no point wasting bandwidth downloading the 64bit version if your running the 32bit version and visa-versa).

Beta's prior to 4 were faulty in the auto updates as I have mentioned many times in this thread.

Question is, How did you get the 32bit version of Beta 6?
And beta 7 hasn't even been released yet!

The link in the FIRST post here always goes to the latest beta (the full install) which contains both versions (x86 and x64). So thats the final call - but I'd still like to understand why you have got the 32bit update package. Either I have messed up the links or something wierd is going on (and if the links were messed up then everyone would be shouting and thats not happening (yet).
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

zoagli
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:01 am

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by zoagli » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:42 am

Hi Phil,

Thanks for replying so quickly!

The automatic update did indeed download Beta 5 (x64) only. The post-install page actually said "x64".

Then I went to the first post in this thread and downloaded XMouseButtonControlSetup.2.10 Beta6.exe (4,127 KB). The post-install went to:
.../scripts/postinstall.asp?package=XMouse&major=2&minor=10&build=0&revision=6&platform=x64

So it seems to be x64 after all, but the app itself is not telling me.

All seems well though. :-)

Cheers,
Lorenzo

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:04 pm

Knowing if its x64 or not is really not all that important to the average user (is there an average used of XMBC hummm!) but its easy to find out by looking in task manager and (on windows 8 the details tab shows the "platform" and on windows 7 I think there is an * after 32bit processes (its been a while so I'm not 100% sure but I know it is fairly obvious!).

Anyway glad all is good (I think) BUT I dont know why the autoupdate only gave you beta 5 - its given me beta six on 3 machines I have tried it on. I will try again a few more times - and there will be at least one more beta - probably more to iron out these little issues.
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:04 am

I have just published 2.10 Beta 7.
If you already have 2.10 Beta installed then Please test the auto-update feature.
The auto-update should be working if you have beta 4 or later installed. If your on a version earlier than beta 4, I cant guarantee it will work!
You can also right click the XMBC icon in the system tray and select "Check for update...".
Note that the auto-update version check uses a DNS request so these can be cached for a bit out in the wild.

Changes since v2.10 Beta 6:
  • #280 - Add ability to return to last layer (simulated keystrokes {layer:last})
  • #267 - Added retry option if there is a problem downloading the update package.
  • #264 - During simulated keys not released when changing layer
There is one new translation to add in this version:

Code: Select all

"An error occurred while running the update package" => ""
Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:31 pm

Ready for release?
Well its been a week or so now with 2.10 beta 7. No issues reported to me so far. Im thinking it must be pretty much ready for release.

Anything I need to know about? If not then this weekend will probably see 2.10.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

webulator70
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:50 am

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by webulator70 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:18 am

Hello Phil.

Awesome program.

Everything with this beta seems to work pretty solidly with beta 7, so far. There is one minor issue with VMware Workstation, though. The mouse wheel on the virtual machine becomes unresponsive while X-Mouse is activated on the host. The wheel items on X-Mouse are set to "Don't intercept". If X-Mouse is disabled via the right click menu, or terminated completely, scrolling immediately works fine on the virtual machine.

This happens weather or not the VMware tools (drivers) are installed on the virtual machine and weather or not you are in exclusive mode. No trouble happens with buttons 1-5.

I am guessing something about how VMware hooks the mouse takes priority over X-Mouse.

May I suggest the possibility to have button assignments or profiles that are truly disabled, the same as if you have the tray icon set with the red X on it? This would allow for a potential work around in other programs too.

This was tested on a Windows 8.1 host os with Windows 7 and 8.1 guests.

Please let me know if you want me to try anything else to test things out.

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:40 am

Ah yes VMWare strikes again.
If you had searched the forum you would have found the answer:viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1966&p=7663&hilit=vmware#p7663

Its not a bug in XMBC, its just the way VMWare works with the mouse (at a lower level) it cant respond to the redirect scroll wheel over window messages. Ive tried all sorts and no joy. The only option is the workaround described in the thread above which works nicely but VMWare does have to be the active window, ie, scroll window under cursor option will never work with VMWare.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 6074
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by phil » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:44 am

I have just published 2.10 Beta 8.
If you already have 2.10 Beta installed then Please test the auto-update feature.
The auto-update should be working if you have beta 4 or later installed. If your on a version earlier than beta 4, I cant guarantee it will work!
You can also right click the XMBC icon in the system tray and select "Check for update...".
Note that the auto-update version check uses a DNS request so these can be cached for a bit out in the wild.

Changes since v2.10 Beta 7:
  • #283 - Quadrant detection is broken (never enabled).
  • #281 - Run profile on mouse move in separate thread.
  • I now have a proper code signing certificate so the EXE, DLL and installation is signed properly
I have changed how the detection of the window under the mouse is detected to switch profiles. It should be more efficient and less CPU usage/mouse lag now but please let me know if you notice any glitches with profile switching as you move the mouse! Its a bit of an experiment but shows good signs so far here!

There are no new translations.

Any problems, PM me a copy of the log file (or post a snippet in a code block here).

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-9600k, Asus Z390-ROG, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, Evo 970 500Gb NVME, 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

lee321987
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by lee321987 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:13 am

Hi ya.
Beta 8 is reporting it's beta 7 in the "About" window.

NeoZeroo
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:37 pm

Re: XMBC 2.10 Beta

Post by NeoZeroo » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:49 pm

Hi phil, I'm a user for years, I love this program!

I recently upgraded to the latest betas, and I'm here to give some bug reporting.
  • When the tray icon is hidden, opening a second instance of X-Mouse doesn't temporarily shows a tray icon anymore. The window shows up and everything works, though.
  • After waking up Windows 7 from sleep, X-Mouse doesn't work anymore. It's process still running, but its key bindings doesn't function on any window. Running the exe again open up the second instance window, but it still doesn't work. I have to close the process in the task manager and open X-Mouse again, then it will work.
  • Beta 8 is indeed showing up as Beta 7 on the window's title and on the About window.
Thanks!

Post Reply