I have upgraded the board - please let me know if you have any problems

Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

My port of Iconoid by SillySoft
Post Reply
Patreides
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:23 pm

Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by Patreides » Sat May 16, 2009 6:32 pm

I just install the Windows 7 RC1 64 bit OS. It is very nice!

I installed Iconoid (x64) - unzipped the RAR package to C:\Program Files\Iconoid.

I the ran Iconoid.exe, It runs with no errors and shows up in the Task Manager Process list as a 64 bit process.

However, it does not create a System tray Icon nor does the Iconoid setup configuration window open.

Any help would be appreciested.

Thanks!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4978
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by phil » Sat May 16, 2009 7:45 pm

Hi,

I haven't tried Iconoid with Windows 7 but I suspect there are going to be some issues because from looking at other apps that access the desktop icons (my mouse software for example) the code to get the icon handles need changing. I'm not sure about the system tray of config though.

I only ported Iconoid to x64 so I'm not particularly familiar with the code so I cont make any promises on this one - it maybe beneficial to speak to the author of the software too (I suspect the 32bit program will suffer the same problem son x86 windows 7).

I don't have Win7 installed here on my dev machine but I was thinking of "upgrading" soon because the machines I have tried it on have seen a massive improvement over Vista! When I do, I will maybe take a look at why Iconoid is not working.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Patreides
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by Patreides » Sun May 17, 2009 4:48 am

Phil,

Thank you for the quick reply.

I understand the situation and will take your suggestion to ask SillySoft, the Iconoid developers, about future Windows 7 support.

I suggest you try out the Windows 7 RC available until June(?). I have installed the 64 bit version. It seems a really stable release and there are many things about it I like over Vista, including performance/memory management. Thus far I have not needed or wanted to boot back to Vista.

But I do miss Iconoid..... :(

Best wishes! :)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4978
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by phil » Sun May 17, 2009 12:47 pm

Patreides wrote:I suggest you try out the Windows 7 RC available until June(?).
As a MSDN subscriber, I have both x86 and x64. I have got the x64 RC1 installed on my media centre machine, and x86 on my laptop, just not on my development (debug) machine yet. As I said, 7 is far superior to Vista in my experience, I just haven't gotten round to installing on my main development machine because there is sooo much stuff to reinstall etc. (I generally don't do upgrades, only fresh installs).

Let me know if you get anything back from Sillysoft.

thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4978
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by phil » Thu May 21, 2009 3:54 am

Hi, a quick update for you.

I've put Windows 7 on my development desktop now and I think I have got Iconoid working.
Its almost completely untested so its quite possible it may not work well in Windows 7, but its worth a try :)

Download it from my downloads page. I set the version to 3.8.4.1 (still reports as 3.8.4) as I haven't changed to the 3.8.5 code base (too much duplicate work for no obvious gain)

Let me know how it works for you.

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Patreides
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by Patreides » Tue May 26, 2009 2:18 am

Phil,

I tried the 3.8.4.1 download. I ALMOST had it working but it causes Explorer restarts when certain settings are changed. Like Save/Restore icon positions. :D

I am installing it to the C:\Program Files\Iconoid folder (not the (x86) folder).

I have tried various compatibility settings, turns UAC off/on etc. with no luck. Under certain circumstances I can get the configuration menu to come up and even get the task tray icon. The icons will disappear and reappear. But it is very inconsistent. Eventually it causes Explorer to fault and restart.

The Applications Event log error is:

Faulting application name: Explorer.EXE, version: 6.1.7100.0, time stamp: 0x49ee974f
Faulting module name: comctl32.dll, version: 6.10.7100.0, time stamp: 0x49eea971
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x0000000000107cbd
Faulting process id: 0xe44
Faulting application start time: 0x01c9dd9dd4c15ba2
Faulting application path: C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.7100.0_none_8fb1307a5ee9ecec\comctl32.dll
Report Id: 238e8d3b-4991-11de-8cfc-001d0987a201

I noticed that faulting module name is "comctl32.dll". Should I be using the (x86) program folder?

Thanks!

Patreides
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by Patreides » Wed May 27, 2009 11:25 am

Phil,

I have Iconoid loading and running pretty smoothly.

I hve it set to "Run As Administrator" and to in Vista compatibility mode.

The system tray icon loads and unload correctly if the Taskbar is LOCKED.

I still get an Explorer restart when certain menu options are selected but the hide icon function(s) are working fine.

Thanks

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4978
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by phil » Wed May 27, 2009 11:34 am

To be honest, Im not surprised your seeing errors, so much has changed relating to the desktop in Windows 7.
I have contacted that author and given him a copy of my code, he seems to think that Iconoid works on the 32bit version of 7 (build 7000 I think) but Im not so sure its that clear cut (because that has the same changes).

As for the installation folder, it makes no difference, its only a folder. Physically there is no difference between "Program Files" and "Program Files (x86)" - its not like system32 and syswow64, its just done for convenience and clarity (or lack of in some cases!).

As I didn't actually write iconoid, I cant really be of much help - the code is not particularly easy to follow but like you, in the brief time I tried it I had issues. I think I was running it elevated as it happens - so that explains why you got more out of it running it as administrator.

Save and restore icons is probably the easy one for me to target because I have re-used parts of that code myself and that all works for me (although I didn't copy it directly, just the principles).

I cant promise anything - I may take a look at it and find/fix some bugs, but no promises.

For what its worth, you know 7 has a hide/show icons function built in right?

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Patreides
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by Patreides » Fri May 29, 2009 9:24 pm

Phil,

I knew of the "Hide" finction in Windows 7 but it is a simple and manual On/Off function as far as I know.

Actually the Iconoid feature I REALLY like/want is the "Hide based on cursor position" with timer settings and that is working fine.

Perhaps the originators of Iconoid will migrate to 64 bit with the advent of Windows 7 and 64 bit systems.

Well shall see...

I appreciate your time and advice!

User avatar
phil
Site Admin
Posts: 4978
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:12 pm

Re: Iconoid 64 bit and Windows 7 RC 7100 Install Problem

Post by phil » Sat May 30, 2009 2:32 am

Well I've been speaking to Doug (the author of Iconoid) and he has said "may be its about time I tried to setup an x64 system) but I get the impression his hardware is not up to it. So we shall see...

Right now is the best time, what with the RC of windows 7 being freely available.
Anyway, at least the main "want" seems to be working :)

Thanks,
Phil
--[ Phil ]--
--[ Administrator & XMBC Author ]--
Logitech G9, Logitech MX518, Microsoft Intellimouse, Trust 16341 BT Mouse
Windows 10 x64, Intel i5-6600k, Asus 170-A, 16GB DDR4,
nVidia GeForce GTX 970, 2xEvo 850 (RAID 0), 2x2TB WD Black (RAID1)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest